Beef Sirloin Tip Roast with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Ninety minutes? Mine was overcooked at thirty. I was aiming for medium rare, but within less than half an hour internal temp was around 150. I checked the temp thinking I'd get an idea on how long I had to wait before prepping the sides, not to find out it was done. Thankfully, the gravy saved it. It's a good idea, but maybe a lower oven temp would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was delicious!!! My Gravy turned out perfect!!! My family Loved It...Great Recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I like mushrooms but didn't put in as many as called for. Still I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Plattsmouth, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Tried it first time and it's a winner! I used fresh mushrooms (shitake & portobellos)with my own beef broth mixture made with Marsala wine. Added some chopped carrots, celery and potatoes and 90 minutes later the internal temp. read 150F. The meat was tasty, but chewy which I prefer over a mealy texture. Next time I'll use a 3-4lb roast (mine was 2.3lbs) and add in more veggies like red & green peppers. I may make this for Thanksgiving along with the Turkey. Thanks for a simple and hearty repast that even brought a smile to my wife's critical palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This was bad. The meat was tough and salty. This could easily be remedied- turn this into a crock pot recipe, use 50/50 beef broth to water to cover meat. Also needs pepper. As is, my husband and daughter only ate enough not to be rude and afterwards let me know just how bad it had been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Sophie
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I am giving this recipe 5 stars b/c I am sure its wonderful as is. As a matter of fact, my mother made her roasts very similar and they were delicious. However, I changed it rather drastically. I used a montreal-type seasoning blend with extra thyme and garlic powder coated all over the roast, liberally. Then browned hard and fast, normal pan, high heat. Transferred roast to ceramic casserole. blended pan juices with broth, red wine and just a touch of liquid smoke and worcestershire. added to roast, baked for 1 hour at 350 for rare-mid-rare center. poured juices from pan back to skillet. Added half a sliced onion, a cup of quartered fresh mushrooms, about a tablespoon of whole peppercorns, a few thin slices of beef leg bone with marrow, a bay leaf, garlic powder and fresh thyme. reduced by almost half. meanwhile, made a 'scratch roux', which is just some melted butter whisked constantly with regular flour over med heat until it turns from buttery yellow to deep gold (just long enuf to kill the raw flour taste and make sure its whisked super smooth). Add to reduction, whisk again to blend gravy, slice your roast, serve mushroom/onion/peppercorn gravy over top. DELICIOUSNESS. Thank you for the inspiration Jim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is absolutely the best roast I have ever made or eaten!! I only cooked it 60 minutes instead of 90 though and it was medium rare - perfect!! My husband and I love it!!!! Lucilicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Excellent. I didn't have the exact ingredients (garlic and herb dry salad dressing mix instead of onion soup mix) but the cooking method is right on! Super simple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This was good. I slightly overcooked my roast. It was bigger and i wanted more done then a medium. Added some potatoes and carrots to the pot and used dry onion mushroom soup mix. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Perfect. I used Shiitake mushrooms. As I only had a 1.5 lb top sirloin joint I halved the ingredients. Even though I over cooked the meat the meal was still scrumptious. I also cooked Hasselback potatoes, baked asparagus and broccoli drizzled in a butter/balsamic/soy sauce. Five plus stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb-Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast

This easy mix of spices makes your roast something truly special.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States