Beef Roast in Red Wine (Carni Arrosto al Vino Rosso) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I had a 2-pound chuck roast, so I basically halved the recipe. I did take into consideration all the reviewers that mentioned that this had way too much liquid. So, I used 1/2 cup red wine and 1/4 cup beef broth, and one can of diced tomatoes, undrained. I still ended up with a lot of liquid after the roast cooked down. I used fresh herbs, which means I should have used three times as much to replace the dry. Well, that seemed excessive, so I used 2 t. each of fresh rosemary, oregano, basil and thyme. I turned the slow cooker on low at 11 pm and went to bed. I was up in time to check it after 8 hours and it was perfectly cooked. I did drain some of the liquid off and thickened the rest with some cornstarch mixed with water. I skipped the tomato paste. Reheated just before serving. Well, this turned out to be a wonderfully seasoned, fork tender and delicious pot roast!! Having the leftovers tonight on French rolls and adding provolone. Can’t wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This was outstanding. Here are my minor modifications: Seared the roast on both sides in a bit of bacon grease before putting in the crock pot. Omitted the tomato paste. Use a full can of beef broth. Added a few potatoes and carrots, sliced celery and fresh mushrooms. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. Next time I will use half the wine, half the broth, and double the onions and tomatoes. (There was just A LOT of extra sauce at the end.) It would also be delicious adding some mushrooms towards the end of cooking. This is a great recipe if you love to cook roasts but want to try it with a twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Fabulous recipe!! The only modifications I made were: (1) seared the roast on all sides, using a small amount of olive oil in a cast iron skillet, before placing in crockpot; (2) used only 1 can of diced tomatoes; and (3) added sliced mushrooms during the last 30 minutes or so. The aroma was absolutely mouth-watering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
so delicious. husband and i loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messy chestnut
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
First, let me say this was one of the best slowcooker pot roast dishes I've ever had... but I did head the advice of others and altered the liquid and spices, as written would have been too much. I used just one cup wine and 2 bouillon cubes (skipped extra salt) instead of 2 plus 1/4 cup stock. I added just 1 1/2 - 2 tablespoons of Italian seasoning instead of all the others (it contains all of the herbs called for +). Those changes by themselves would have been wonderful, however because there was still a good bit of liquid, I decided to add 2 cups baby carrots and 2 Baker's cubed, 2 hours before finishing. I put the meat and vegetables in a Corning dish to serve, covered and kept warm. I put the juices in a sauce pan and added a cornstarch slury to thicken. I loved the tomato/potato/carrot mixture with a wonderful gravy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
The combinations of the spices with onions, garlic and tomatoes was wonderful. The red wine made a really great gravy. I cooked my roast in the oven until it reached the rare stage. I will definitely do this over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athabasca, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This was excellent – but only after fairly significant alterations, primarily in measurements. I drastically reduced the amount of herbs, even tho’ I used fresh. Similarly, I also reduced the broth, wine and tomatoes to about one-fourth of what was called for! To get the tomato taste I knew would really enrich this, I threw in a tablespoon of Pure Tomato Powder (this stuff is awesome good by the way – it’s from our (The) Spice House in Milwaukee and can be ordered online). I dredged the roast in flour before browning it in pure (not extra virgin) olive oil, then laid it on a bed of baby bella mushrooms as well as the onions. Even after reducing the amount of liquids significantly, this still was pretty juicy – darn good, but juicy. I was tempted to put the juices on the stove and reduce them till much thicker, but ultimately decided against it, figuring that it would become too salty. The meat, as expected, was fork tender and the juices were richly flavored, delicious spooned over the beef as well as some buttered linguine. As for the excess of broth/tomato/wine juices, it will be excellent used in the soup I plan to make tomorrow! Four stars rather than five, only because of the overload of liquids called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by monsieurgrand02
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This recipe turned out great! I'd have to agree with most reviewers here that it makes a lot of liquid! But, I took the extra liquid and tossed in the freezer. It tastes like an amazing tomato soup. I thought I'd thaw one day and pair with it with a grilled cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monsieurgrand02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was a home run on the first attempt. The cut of meat was the only flaw, but that's what happens with a "Meat Bundle" from the butcher. The cross rib roast was good none the less. Stellar reviews from the fam. Thanks for the effort in making the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Kopel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA
Living In: O Brien, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States