Beef Roast in Red Wine (Carni Arrosto al Vino Rosso) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Fabulous recipe!! The only modifications I made were: (1) seared the roast on all sides, using a small amount of olive oil in a cast iron skillet, before placing in crockpot; (2) used only 1 can of diced tomatoes; and (3) added sliced mushrooms during the last 30 minutes or so. The aroma was absolutely mouth-watering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
First, let me say this was one of the best slowcooker pot roast dishes I've ever had... but I did head the advice of others and altered the liquid and spices, as written would have been too much. I used just one cup wine and 2 bouillon cubes (skipped extra salt) instead of 2 plus 1/4 cup stock. I added just 1 1/2 - 2 tablespoons of Italian seasoning instead of all the others (it contains all of the herbs called for +). Those changes by themselves would have been wonderful, however because there was still a good bit of liquid, I decided to add 2 cups baby carrots and 2 Baker's cubed, 2 hours before finishing. I put the meat and vegetables in a Corning dish to serve, covered and kept warm. I put the juices in a sauce pan and added a cornstarch slury to thicken. I loved the tomato/potato/carrot mixture with a wonderful gravy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This was outstanding. Here are my minor modifications: Seared the roast on both sides in a bit of bacon grease before putting in the crock pot. Omitted the tomato paste. Use a full can of beef broth. Added a few potatoes and carrots, sliced celery and fresh mushrooms. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
The combinations of the spices with onions, garlic and tomatoes was wonderful. The red wine made a really great gravy. I cooked my roast in the oven until it reached the rare stage. I will definitely do this over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Webb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athabasca, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Great Crock Pot Beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. Next time I will use half the wine, half the broth, and double the onions and tomatoes. (There was just A LOT of extra sauce at the end.) It would also be delicious adding some mushrooms towards the end of cooking. This is a great recipe if you love to cook roasts but want to try it with a twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
so delicious. husband and i loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messy chestnut
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I had a 2-pound chuck roast, so I basically halved the recipe. I did take into consideration all the reviewers that mentioned that this had way too much liquid. So, I used 1/2 cup red wine and 1/4 cup beef broth, and one can of diced tomatoes, undrained. I still ended up with a lot of liquid after the roast cooked down. I used fresh herbs, which means I should have used three times as much to replace the dry. Well, that seemed excessive, so I used 2 t. each of fresh rosemary, oregano, basil and thyme. I turned the slow cooker on low at 11 pm and went to bed. I was up in time to check it after 8 hours and it was perfectly cooked. I did drain some of the liquid off and thickened the rest with some cornstarch mixed with water. I skipped the tomato paste. Reheated just before serving. Well, this turned out to be a wonderfully seasoned, fork tender and delicious pot roast!! Having the leftovers tonight on French rolls and adding provolone. Can’t wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I didn't have all the ingredients on hand so I had to tweak it a little bit, with homemade basic marinara sauce and canned diced tomatoes with green chilies (added a nice little kick!), then used 21 Seasoning Salute from Trader Joe's in place of the seasonings called for. I also added a bay leaf. It turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Francis Roberson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was a home run on the first attempt. The cut of meat was the only flaw, but that's what happens with a "Meat Bundle" from the butcher. The cross rib roast was good none the less. Stellar reviews from the fam. Thanks for the effort in making the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Kopel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA
Living In: O Brien, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States