Beef Roast in Red Wine (Carni Arrosto al Vino Rosso) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I didn't have all the ingredients on hand so I had to tweak it a little bit, with homemade basic marinara sauce and canned diced tomatoes with green chilies (added a nice little kick!), then used 21 Seasoning Salute from Trader Joe's in place of the seasonings called for. I also added a bay leaf. It turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Francis Roberson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was a home run on the first attempt. The cut of meat was the only flaw, but that's what happens with a "Meat Bundle" from the butcher. The cross rib roast was good none the less. Stellar reviews from the fam. Thanks for the effort in making the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Kopel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA
Living In: O Brien, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This was outstanding. Here are my minor modifications: Seared the roast on both sides in a bit of bacon grease before putting in the crock pot. Omitted the tomato paste. Use a full can of beef broth. Added a few potatoes and carrots, sliced celery and fresh mushrooms. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
its ok, its missing something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
The combinations of the spices with onions, garlic and tomatoes was wonderful. The red wine made a really great gravy. I cooked my roast in the oven until it reached the rare stage. I will definitely do this over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athabasca, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Tons of flavor! I used 1 clove garlic, no red wine, but used a couple gluks of balsamic vinegar. I also used tamari instead of worcestershire, fresh basil and thyme (about 2 tsp. each) and Italian seasoning (about 1 1/2 tsp.), cut the black pepper to about a 1/2 tsp. I also used about 6-7 fresh tomatoes, peeled, seeded and crushed instead of the canned. Instead of the tomato paste, I thickened with arrowroot powder although the tomato paste sounded good, because I served it with brown rice and wanted more of a gravy type sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monsieurgrand02
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This recipe turned out great! I'd have to agree with most reviewers here that it makes a lot of liquid! But, I took the extra liquid and tossed in the freezer. It tastes like an amazing tomato soup. I thought I'd thaw one day and pair with it with a grilled cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monsieurgrand02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This was excellent – but only after fairly significant alterations, primarily in measurements. I drastically reduced the amount of herbs, even tho’ I used fresh. Similarly, I also reduced the broth, wine and tomatoes to about one-fourth of what was called for! To get the tomato taste I knew would really enrich this, I threw in a tablespoon of Pure Tomato Powder (this stuff is awesome good by the way – it’s from our (The) Spice House in Milwaukee and can be ordered online). I dredged the roast in flour before browning it in pure (not extra virgin) olive oil, then laid it on a bed of baby bella mushrooms as well as the onions. Even after reducing the amount of liquids significantly, this still was pretty juicy – darn good, but juicy. I was tempted to put the juices on the stove and reduce them till much thicker, but ultimately decided against it, figuring that it would become too salty. The meat, as expected, was fork tender and the juices were richly flavored, delicious spooned over the beef as well as some buttered linguine. As for the excess of broth/tomato/wine juices, it will be excellent used in the soup I plan to make tomorrow! Four stars rather than five, only because of the overload of liquids called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I did have less beef, so I added carrot and potatoes with it instead, which was good. BUT like other reviewers (which I read too late) the amount of spice was overkill. I also didn't even add the beef broth and still ended up with a very soupy result. I thickened it with cornstarch and it was still quite thin. With changes as other reviewers noted, it would be good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Bogaart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
The wine flavor was a little too overwhelming. But very flavorful and aromatic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States