Beef Potato House Pie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
My family enjoys this casserole. I add a can of mushroom soup to the meat, as well as garlic. I then put all of the mashed potatoes on top of the meat and cover everything with grated cheddar cheese. It is yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
This is a great basic recipe. My hubby is a meat and potatoes guy so by changing this a little he loved it. I added a small can of chopped mushrooms, and a 1/2 can of cream of muchroom soup. You can use more of the soup if you like but it may make the consistency thinner. I also used a box(2packages)of the herb and butter flavored instant potatoes instead of boiling the 6 large. I also added the pretty hefty layer of Velveeta after the first layering of the meat and potatoes, and finished the dish with shredded cheddar cheese then baked until the cheese was golden brown. Will definitely make again. Laurie H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Great recipe! I also know this one as Shepherd's Pie. One in our family can't have cheese, so I made a nice serving of gravy from the drippings and spooned plenty over the meat layers. I used 1 lb. each hamburger and sausage, and added a few cloves garlic, 1 T. sage and a couple shakes of Tony's (creole seasoning) while browning meat. With these additions, I had no problems with flavor! There are so many variations you could make of this (adding veggies, soups, sour cream?) - I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Very good and simple recipe. Hubby loved it! I did as others suggested and cut back a bit. I used only 1 1/4 lb. of ground beef and 4 large baked potatoes (peeled and chopped), and it fit perfectly in a 9x13 casserole dish. I also spiced up the meat, onion, bell pepper mixture with about 1 tsp. of worchestershire sauce and some steak seasoning, as well as sliced baby portabella mushrooms. I also made garlic mashed potatoes instead of just regular mashed potatoes. And I also did as other suggested and added cheese. I made two layers each of beef mixture, mashed potato mixture and then shredded cheddar cheese. Thanks for the recipe! Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODFAVOR8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
This is the second time I have tried this recipe. The first time didn't turn out to well because I didn't use enough ground beef and cheese, but had too many potatos. ::chuckling:: The second time I used 2 1/2 pounds of ground beef and alot more cheese. (Like it was suggested, I put a layer of cheese after the first layer of meat and potatos.) The two layers of cheese is amazing. Be careful with the green pepper. The more it is cooked, the more "water" it will produce. I would suggest using 1/2 the green pepper and dicing it up. Then again, I'm not the best cook, so I'm sure there are others that know of different thickening agents to use. Overall....it's incredibly tasty and will be used many times in the Bachelor's life. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
Great recipe, Pat!.....Quick and Easy. I did add 1 teaspoon chopped garlic to the meat while browning. I also added 2 eggs to the meat and the potato mixtures...it seemed to make it hold together a little better. This recipe is supposed to serve 8, but my husband ate 1/2 of it himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
very good and easy..i made a little adjustments to the recipe. i made it with turkey meat mixed gravey add thyme and made peas and carrots. I layered meat and then the vegtables, potatoes and instead of layering the cheese i mixed it with the potatoes. At the end of the layering I grated the cheese on top of it. very good.. alittle tip use half of pepper. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
I really liked this recipe. I took the advice of some other reviewers and instead of using homemade mashed potatoes, I used 2 pkgs of instant herb & butter potatoes. They added a little more flavor. I also added one can of condensed cream of mushroom soup and a little garlic powder to the ground beef, onion, & green bell pepper mixture. I did not alternate layers either. I just put the beef mixture on the bottom and spooned all of the potatoes on the top. I serve this with corn & blueberry muffins. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I added an egg to the mashed potatoes and used shredded cheddar cheese instead of processed cheese. Delicious! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Pretty good, although I added quite a bit of seasoning to the beef because I felt it needed it. I added garlic powder, basil, paprika, cajun seasoning, lots of pepper and salt. Good comfort meal though. I also used cheddar cheese instead of American and added cheese to both layers of potatoes that I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States