Beef Potato House Pie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Very good and simple recipe. Hubby loved it! I did as others suggested and cut back a bit. I used only 1 1/4 lb. of ground beef and 4 large baked potatoes (peeled and chopped), and it fit perfectly in a 9x13 casserole dish. I also spiced up the meat, onion, bell pepper mixture with about 1 tsp. of worchestershire sauce and some steak seasoning, as well as sliced baby portabella mushrooms. I also made garlic mashed potatoes instead of just regular mashed potatoes. And I also did as other suggested and added cheese. I made two layers each of beef mixture, mashed potato mixture and then shredded cheddar cheese. Thanks for the recipe! Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODFAVOR8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This was really good but needed more of a taste so I would add a layer of cheese in the middle of the dish, everyone liked in my family. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This was wonderful. What a great cold weather dish this will be!!! Comfort food....I took another reviewer's advice and changed the following: I only used 1 lb of ground beef, and I added a package of brown gravy mix, the water called for on the gravy packet, and 1 can of cream of 98% fat free chicken soup to the beef. I saved time by making a huge amount of mashed potatoes on another night, and used the leftovers here. Might use cream of mushroom next time instead of chicken, and I might substitute a little red cooking wine for some of the water. Another favorite at our house!!! [Made this again 10/13/05--used 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup, HOMESTYLE gravy mix, 1/4 cup red wine, 3/4 cup water. Liked it even more!!!!!!!]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
When I made this, I made a larger pan of it, so I added another package of potatoes, I also took other peoples advice and used garlic mashed potatoes. Also When I browned the meat, I put some steak seasoning for more flavor. Overall, My family loved it! Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
I added more cheese to this receipe.My father in law loves this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Good recipe - won't use as much rosemary next time as it seems to overpower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Eijsden, Limburg, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
This is a great recipe. I used large potatos but next time I will use medium sized as I had left over mashed potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
We thought that this was an easy and delicious casserole. I did make a few changes. I added mushrooms to the hamburger, along with steak sauce and worchestershire to add flavoring. To the potatoes I added garlic and italian seasoning. My husband and I both loved the recipe. This will definitely become a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden Beach, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Southport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
My family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
quick, yes....easy, yes....inexpensive, yes....tasty, not really...kinda boring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States