Beef Potato House Pie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I added worcestershire sauce to the meat mixture. It still seemed to be missing something. I used sliced/sandwich cheese and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
My family loved this, four picky boys and a husband, they at it all! I made it for 8 servings and it filled them up, but there were no leftovers, and my kids wanted to take some in a thermos for lunch the next day! I will probably double the recipe next time, at least double the potatoes or perhaps add frozen peas, corn, etc. Also, I had read previous reviews saying it didn't have much taste, so I added Shoups Country seasoning to the ground beef while it was browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bailey, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
This recipe was sooo easy and delicious! It is even wonderful as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
This recipe is very good but can be made faster by sustituting instant mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
This is the second time I have tried this recipe. The first time didn't turn out to well because I didn't use enough ground beef and cheese, but had too many potatos. ::chuckling:: The second time I used 2 1/2 pounds of ground beef and alot more cheese. (Like it was suggested, I put a layer of cheese after the first layer of meat and potatos.) The two layers of cheese is amazing. Be careful with the green pepper. The more it is cooked, the more "water" it will produce. I would suggest using 1/2 the green pepper and dicing it up. Then again, I'm not the best cook, so I'm sure there are others that know of different thickening agents to use. Overall....it's incredibly tasty and will be used many times in the Bachelor's life. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
My daughter said- "Mom this is excellent!" It was easy and quick. My whole family loved it and they scraped the bowl clean. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBS32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
This is a great basic recipe. My hubby is a meat and potatoes guy so by changing this a little he loved it. I added a small can of chopped mushrooms, and a 1/2 can of cream of muchroom soup. You can use more of the soup if you like but it may make the consistency thinner. I also used a box(2packages)of the herb and butter flavored instant potatoes instead of boiling the 6 large. I also added the pretty hefty layer of Velveeta after the first layering of the meat and potatoes, and finished the dish with shredded cheddar cheese then baked until the cheese was golden brown. Will definitely make again. Laurie H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
Great recipe, Pat!.....Quick and Easy. I did add 1 teaspoon chopped garlic to the meat while browning. I also added 2 eggs to the meat and the potato mixtures...it seemed to make it hold together a little better. This recipe is supposed to serve 8, but my husband ate 1/2 of it himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Great recipe! I also know this one as Shepherd's Pie. One in our family can't have cheese, so I made a nice serving of gravy from the drippings and spooned plenty over the meat layers. I used 1 lb. each hamburger and sausage, and added a few cloves garlic, 1 T. sage and a couple shakes of Tony's (creole seasoning) while browning meat. With these additions, I had no problems with flavor! There are so many variations you could make of this (adding veggies, soups, sour cream?) - I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This was a very good recipe. I have a picky husband, so I had to leave out the onion and pepper. But I added a layer of corn and it still turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States