Beef Potato House Pie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
I made this adding some of our favorite spices. I added garlic to the meat and the mashed potatoes. I added a layer of peas, also. You can get very creative with this recipe. Next time I am going to make a thick gravy with the meat - my family can hardly wait to eat this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
I took this to a pot luck dinner and it traveled very well. I do believe it would have been a little better (for my taste) if I had added a jalapeno pepper or some chilies to it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
This is a great recipe for my meat and potato man! I added a spoonful of sour cream to the top of each serving that made it perfect for us. We're keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
Joyce, I added peppers and mushrooms as well as ground lamb which gave it wonderful tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This was a pretty good recipe. I was making it for my husband's Pakistani family, so I added hot peppers to the beef and garlic to the potatoes. And I didn't use any milk in the potatoes; they were already pretty liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
If your looking for a low budget, low excitement, low taste meal you have found the mother load. If your looking for something cheap with hamburger just get Hamburger Helper..I recommend the pizza version. (review by Chris Rathje/Certified Working Chef)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I added worcestershire sauce to the meat mixture. It still seemed to be missing something. I used sliced/sandwich cheese and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
My family loved this, four picky boys and a husband, they at it all! I made it for 8 servings and it filled them up, but there were no leftovers, and my kids wanted to take some in a thermos for lunch the next day! I will probably double the recipe next time, at least double the potatoes or perhaps add frozen peas, corn, etc. Also, I had read previous reviews saying it didn't have much taste, so I added Shoups Country seasoning to the ground beef while it was browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bailey, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
This recipe tasted like a midwest meal, to feed the farm hands. My husband and I both really liked it. I used a thickened brown gravy with the ground beef, added a down home flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
Where I come from this dish is called Sheperds Pie. The cheese made the difference. I'll make it again!!! Casey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States