Beef Potato House Pie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Great basic recipe. I did add mixed veggies (to make it feed more) and cream of mushroom soup. Also added garlic to ground beef while cooking, and sprinkled a spicy seasoning salt on top of the potatoes before baking. Just for fun I used my cake decorator to make large stars of potatoes on top. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
My fiance said "excellent" after his first bite. After that, he said, "It's missing something, though." We really like spicey food, so we had to add some spice to it, and next time we'll probably add some Creole seasoning in the meat. I also took some other raters' advice and added mushroom soup to the ground beef...I can see how it would have been dry otherwise. This was an easy meal to make (as I am NOT a great cook), and I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTRoth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
This was pretty good. I made it without the bell pepper and I used shredded cheese instead of processed. All in all, I would make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMASSEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
This recipe was very tasty. I have shared a taste of it with some of my friends and they readily asked for a copy of the recipe. I am planning on making it regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
Easy to make. Taste good. I added garlic to the beef when cooking to give more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
This was good, but I'm not sure it will be one of our favorites. Will probably make again sometime, since it is so easy, and can be made with things kept on hand. I took the advice of other reviewers, and added a can of cream of mushroom soup to the beef, as well as some garlic powder. I used a prepackaged mixture of cheddar and mozzarella instead of the cheese slices. Also ommitted the onions, as my husband doesn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Well, I wasn't too impressed but my boyfriend (a die-hard meat and potatoes fan) loved this! I took DTNYC's advice and added some minced garlic and a can of cream of mushroom to the meat. Also, instead of layering, I just placed the potatoes over the meat and sprinkled cheese overall. It is a very economical meal and it is very hearty and easy to make - I'd make it again for my boyfriend while making myself a salad. Thanks Pat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
This was a HUGE hit with my husband who is a lover of meat and potatoes.... I did add quite of bit of seasoning as I cooked the meat, but very good and it was one I was a bit nervous about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
My family really enjoyed this recipe, the only negative comment was that my husband thought it was a little dry, might try adding a creamed soup to the mixture next time or tomato sauce. Very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brillion, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
I added a can of mixed veggies, so I could complete this meal. It is a great family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States