Beef Potato House Pie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This is great. I have made shepherds pie before, but this version is way better! I made changes also. I used about 1 1/4 lb hamburger, part of it leftover taco meat, and about 6 medium potatoes.I just added about 1/2 can cream of mushroom soup, no vegetables to the hamburger. With the soup and taco meat, that was all that was needed. I also made two layers as others suggested, and that makes a difference. There was more potaoes and cheese than the meat, but delicious! This is great, filling comfort food. Next time I'll add more meat, and cut back a little on the potatoes. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
shepard's pie variation--we used frozen peas and or corn in the recipe instead of green pepper, and added garlic powder and worstershire to the hamburger for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Pretty good, although I added quite a bit of seasoning to the beef because I felt it needed it. I added garlic powder, basil, paprika, cajun seasoning, lots of pepper and salt. Good comfort meal though. I also used cheddar cheese instead of American and added cheese to both layers of potatoes that I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
We enjoyed this recipe cooked "as is", but made some modifications and loved it. We added more onion, about 1/3 cup worstershire sauce and some garlic. Pepped it up a bit. I also made instant potatoes using canned milk and layered in a blend of shredded casserole cheese. It was a hit at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I have made this several times; without reading the reviews, and I have mostly stuck to the orginal recipe. I did use fat free cheese slices (my boyfriend and I are trying to watch our weight). After the first time I did add some salt, pepper, and seasoning to the ground beef mixture. I agree that it is lacking something. Next time I think I will add fat free cream of mushroom soup or fat free sour cream. All in all this is a quick and easy recipe that can easily be made using instant mashed patatoes, I also may try the garlic mashed patatoes suggested by the other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittemore, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
My family loved this recipe! Even our pickiest eater liked it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Tried this receipe and wasn't thrilled. Didn't taste bad, but it was basically just potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
My family loved this recipe, and it was pretty simple. I tried it with venison instead of beef, added seasoning salt and garlic salt and it turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Thanks for the recipe, but I thought is was a little bland. I added more seasoning to it. It was quick & easy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
A good basic recipe, but needs a lot more spice to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States