Beef Potato House Pie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was good. I didn't layer it. I just put the mixture in the pan and then smothered it with the mashed potatoes and topped with cheese. I also threw in some mushrooms and red bell pepper (didn't have a green one). Came out pretty good. Me and my roommate loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaVonne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
this was very good, but I added a can of niblets corn to it, came out like a quicky version of what folks around here call shepherd's pie, I had some left over gravy left from pot roast the day before I heated it up and spooned a little over each serving, and with a crusty bread this was a satisfying meal....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Good, can't go wrong with meat and potatoes. Reminds me of Shepard's pie by the time I got done with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseline

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Anything that turns out as well as this did the first time making it deserves at least 4 stars. Very Good! I'd give it 4+ if I could. I didn't have bell pepper so I used a whole poblano and two roasted green chili peppers, diced. Also, next time I make the potatoes for layering, I would add additional butter, salt and pepper to give them a little richness and depth to go with the savory meat mixture. I've added this to my meal rotation and look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I followed the recipe and my family enjoyed it. It was simple to make and we just headed it up for dinner after a long day at the office. I will add some spices to give it more flavor but overall its a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Darn Good! I made this recipe last night and it was really tasty, great for lunch today too! I added some veggies but would strongly advise against skimping on the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
My kids loved it! A little bland, but my 2 and 4 yr. did not argue. Modified it by using 1pd. hamburger seasoned with chopped onion and garlic powder.Mixed in 1/2 a can mushroom soup and added 1/2c. peas and 1/2c. corn instead of green pepper. Placed meat mixture in casserole and covered top with mashed potatoes and shredded sharp cheese. Big Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Very filling casserole and open to additions. I made it just as written and it was a nice change from the same type of recipe (shepherds pie) that I add vegetables to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Next time I am going to sub in some left over shredded pot roast instead of the hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe! I used Betty Crocker garlic mashed potatoes on top to save time and added garlic powder and half a can of 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup to the meat. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Pork Chop and Potato Casserole

A simple, delicious hearty meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States