Beef Potato House Pie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Very easy, but not very tasty. Will spruce it up with red pepper, hot sauce, mexican corn, etc. next time to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Great little twist on Sheperd's Pie!! I went greek with mine. I put two eggs with the potatoes to hold them together; and added Greek Yogurt (or sour cream) and Garlic to the beef. I also used Mozzerella Cheese. We love cheese, so I put an extra layer in the middle. Very Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
My family enjoys this casserole. I add a can of mushroom soup to the meat, as well as garlic. I then put all of the mashed potatoes on top of the meat and cover everything with grated cheddar cheese. It is yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This was a very good recipe. I have a picky husband, so I had to leave out the onion and pepper. But I added a layer of corn and it still turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This recipe was good. I have a very fussy 8 yr old and he really liked it. It did made a lot of food. Next time I might scale it down to serve less. I added some brown gravy to the meat and I used shredded cheese that I mixed in with the potatoes. I also added a can of creamed corn which made it a little soupy. Next time I will use regular corn. I also will leave out the green peppers. But this is something I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Pretty good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUECOVELLBUTLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Great recipe! I also know this one as Shepherd's Pie. One in our family can't have cheese, so I made a nice serving of gravy from the drippings and spooned plenty over the meat layers. I used 1 lb. each hamburger and sausage, and added a few cloves garlic, 1 T. sage and a couple shakes of Tony's (creole seasoning) while browning meat. With these additions, I had no problems with flavor! There are so many variations you could make of this (adding veggies, soups, sour cream?) - I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
Great recipe, Pat!.....Quick and Easy. I did add 1 teaspoon chopped garlic to the meat while browning. I also added 2 eggs to the meat and the potato mixtures...it seemed to make it hold together a little better. This recipe is supposed to serve 8, but my husband ate 1/2 of it himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
Good flavor but needed a beef gravy or something to make it interesting. I'll work with it and we'll definitely have it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Osawatomie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Tasted good and very simple to make. I was in a bit of a hurry when I made this recipe, so I used instant potatoes. It turned out very well. Next time I think I'll try adding some gravy like some others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States