Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
My husband said, "He couldn't have ordered a better meal in a restaurant." Given my lacking culinary abilities and his finicky palate, this was quite the compliment! This recipe makes a beautiful presentation and the juices and onion and garlic makes it's own gravy/sauce. The key to it not coming out dry (as one reviewer complained) is searing the meat for the full 4 minutes on each side. I set the kitchen timer and left it alone. Also do not add salt (just like the recipe states) until the meat is seared. This keeps the juices from running. I was also able to use a less expensive piece of meat and it turned out fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
526 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
I tried this recipe on my first attempt at pot roast, mostly because the technique seemed easy. But I put my own touches on it. I used the chuck roast and seasoned it w/ salt, pepper, garlic powder, and a little italian seasoning. Make sure you sear the meat well, but not burned. After searing, I put the onions in the pot with a diced bell pepper, a few cut up baby carrots, a can of sliced mushrooms, a dash of Worcestershire, and half a can of beef broth. I let it come to a boil, then put the roast back in the pot and put it in the oven. Last thing was to thicken the liquid with a little flour. This pot roast tasted so homemade, my husband and daughter cleaned up for me! Make sure that you add some type off liquid (broth, wine, water, or combination), otherwise yours will be very dry. Hope this helps, I now have a pot roast recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
509 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2000
This is one of the first recipes I found on allrecipes.com several years ago and I've been making it ever since. My recommendation: DON'T CHANGE ANYTHING. When people complain that it's tough, but they added water, it's their own fault! Don't add water or broth. Don't add potatoes or carrots. Don't even change the amounts on the salt and pepper. Just do exactly what the recipe says and you will be happy with the results! I always am...but when I don't follow it exacyly, I'm disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
435 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This was a big hit with my family! I did make a few changes and it was juicy, delicious, and flavorful. I seared it on all sides, 4 min. each side. Meanwhile, on the bottom of my Dutch Oven I put carrots, celery, 4 cloves of garlic, onion wedges,and quartered potatoes. I made a rub of lemon pepper, garlic salt, pepper and paprika. After searing, using disposable gloves, I rubbed the seasonings on all sides of the roast. I also stuck 5 cloves of garlic in slits in the roast. I added 1/2 can of beef broth over the vegies. Covered tightly with heavy alum. foil and cooked following the recipe. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I picked this recipe because I wanted a plain pot roast without added vegetables, wine, beef broth etc. -- a recipe that allows one to savor the flavor of the beef. This is it! Followed the recipe as given, although my chuck roast was only 3 lbs. The roast came out very juicy and tender with a delicious flavor. There was a lot of juice in the pan, but it's a stretch to call it 'gravy'. You'll have to thicken and season it to get a traditional brown gravy but there's plenty of juice to work with. For those who have problems, two suggestions: 1) chuck roast is one of the cheapest beef roast cuts and I've only been satisfied when purchased at a good butcher shop. The one's found in the grocery store usually cook up pretty tough and/or dry. I've also had good luck with chuck roasts from Whole Foods. 2) Make sure your roaster/dutch oven has a tight fitting lid AND is sized for the roast. If the lid is loose or you use a roaster that holds a 25 lb turkey, the pot roast will turn out dry. Great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
This was excellent...but I'm happier with the success of the gravy that was produced from this!! Thanks to the tips from the "gals" (wink) I added some beef broth to ensure moisture, and per another reviewer, added 1/2 pkg dry onion soup mix. I did have to thicken a little by adding some cornstarch (very little) but I assume its b/c I added a little too much beef broth. Excellent taste, texture and overall, was much easier than I thought it would be!! Very excited to make this again!! Thanks Teresa!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
My family loved everything about this recipe. The flavor was outstanding. I agree with others, FOLLOW THE RECIPE AS WRITTEN. Go ahead and add some other spices per your taste but sear the meat as directed and then season. I added some flour to the strained meat drippings and the gravy was wonderful. My hubby commented that it was the best roast I've ever made. I normally do a roast in the crockpot but not anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
This recipe is FANTASTIC!! Easily the best pot roast I've ever made! This also freezes quite well - just cool and slice and package with a little of the "gravy" in a freezer zip-top bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Great recipe! I used about a 3 1/2 lb Boneless Chuck Roast and I cut away the largest parts of fat. I seared the meat as directed and added 2 cups of beef broth (I use the powdered bouillon, so I used 2 packets to make the 2 cups of broth) and put it in the oven for the first 30 minutes. When I turned down the temp, I added the seasoning and veggies. I used 1 onion, about 2 teaspoons chopped garlic, 1 green bell pepper, 1 whole bunch of celery, baby carrots, red potatoes and 1 packet Onion Mushroom Soup Mix. I seasoned the meat with pepper, Tony Chachere's Seasoning, Worchestershire and a shaking of red pepper flakes. I didn't use the bay leaves. I just covered the Dutch Oven with foil and let it go for the next 1 1/2 hour. It was FABULOUS!!! I can't wait to eat it tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
The best! Everyone who has tasted this pot roast has asked for the recipe. Now my husband frequently asks me to make it. Even during the summer! YIKES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States