Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Followed the recipe to a T against my better judgment...boy, was I glad I did. No way was I expecting it to make some much of it's own juices. I was scared to put in dry, to be honest. My roast was only 2lbs, so I pulled it out 20 minutes early, but otherwise didn't change a thing. Thanks, this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Excellent and simple. It takes very little effort to have a moist and flavorful beef entree. Both times I've made this I covered the beef loosely with foil inside my covered roaster pan. First time I made this, I took the juices and made a gravy. Second time, removed cooked beef and added 1 can condensed French onion soup (14 oz) and 1/2 can water to the juices/onions/garlic remaining in roaster. (I added the soup and water because I wanted au jus but didn't have nearly enough liquid from the beef this time.) Brought to a simmer on the stove for 10 minutes. Strained all plus scrapings through wire strainer, drained off fat; wonderful au jus for meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is a very good, very simple recipe! I made it for Christmas dinner & my boyfriend really liked it! The only changes I made were marinating the roast for a few hours before searing the meat. I also added mushrooms & beef broth to my French oven to help flavor the roast as it cooked. It was delicious!!! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made this for our New Years Day dinner with greens and black eyed peas. Everyone loved it. Will be making this again. I did not change a thing and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
It was great for our christmas dinner. I got a 2.5 lb roast since there is only 2 of us. I added two small onions, diced garlic and 3 bay leaves. I did some beef stock in the bottom of the pan just because that is what I was always taught to do. Once I got to 300 degrees I only did 1 hour and it was just a tad pink when it was done. Tons of flavor and very juicy! Will make this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: West Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I enjoyed this recipe very much...added about 1/2 cup of beef stock to the pot before adding it to the oven, as I was afraid that it would get too dry. It was very moist, but very well-done, so I would probably cut back the time a bit...maybe to 1 1/4 hours for the final time. However, it is the ONLY pot roast that my kids will eat without complaining! Well done! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Fantastic Recipe. Did not change a thing, next time I will leave at the garlic - not a big fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is a quick and easy recipe which is what I love about it. I added potatoes and carrots to the cooking process and I added about a cup of water after the first 1/2 hour. I don't know if it was necessary or not, but it helped the vegetables to cook faster. I found the meal to be bland, so next time I will season it, but I really like the ease of the meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I am a bad cook. So much that my husband dreads when I want to make a roast for dinner. I followed this recipe exactly as written and my whole family said I could add it to our regular menu. Yay!! It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Came out tender and juicy. Used pearl onions instead of chopped and added some baby carrots and diced potatoes. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States