Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I have to give this recipe 5 stars even though I changed it only to add liquid (beef stock and wine) and a bit of Herbes de Provence to the pot before covering and placing in the oven for several hours. The resulting gravy was so flavorful it needed nothing other than thickening. The meat was incredibly tender and juicy just falling apart when we were ready to enjoy it. It's the first pot roast I've ever made and won't change a thing when making it again.......and again.......and again. I love making Boeuf Bourguignon and consider it a complete labor of love due to the complexity of it. This pot roast was so easy and delicious it provides a wonderful alternative to spending 4 hours making Julia's famous recipe! Thanks so much for posting this! Aunt Tilly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt tilly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I have never cooked a pot roast in my life and I do not eat beef very often. I used this recipe and followed the review # 2 by Jeanne. WOW. I prepared a beef gravey on the side. I separated the veggies to a casserole and put them on the oven vent. I added the gravey to the remaining beef broth and thickend it a little. Like I said WOW!! Thank you All Recipies, and Jeanne!. Joellen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Loved this ! The more color you get on the sear, the more flavor your roast will have. And a cast iron skillet is perfect for this recipe, as it goes from stove top to oven and the cast iron will get you a sear that no other pan can. When you're plating this, scoop up a generous portion of the onions and garlic off the bottom of the pan and serve them over some great mashed potatoes. They were the absolute best part of this !!! One warning: Watch the roast weight. I did a 2 pound but failed to reduce the cooking time as the original recipe is written for a 4 pound roast. It came a bit overdone (still delicious) but that was entirely MY fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This beats the heck out of the slow cooker! My meat was tender and the juice at the bottom of my dutch over was a terrific au jus once I drained the onion and added some red wine. A simple, perfect way to cook your roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Just made this last night and let me tell you it was sooooo good. It was so juicy and flavorful. Also, as another reviewer stated, I had no problem with dryness. I washed my pot roast b4 I used it and dried it with a paper towel. After that I just put them into my Dutch oven and let them sit on each side for 4 minutes (timed) I did not touch them, except when added my seasonings to them while cooking which is onion powder, accent, worchestershire sauce and pepper. Instead of using 2 garlic cloves I used one large and then some minced garlic I had in the Fridge. I left them in the Dutch oven (stovetop) and put that in the oven. I cooked them covered for about 20 minutes and the rest of the time was uncovered. This combination of things made it's own juice/sauce and it was sooo good. Also I didn't have bay leaves so I left that out...didn't miss them at all. Thanks for this recipe && I don't even like Pot Roast but this was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
The best pot roast ever. I added vegetables & it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
My husband made this today with 2 changes, he put all the onions and garlic on top with the bay leaf and added 2 pats of butter. SUPER TENDER. WHOLE FAMILY DELIGHTED!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This cooked up wonderfully! Searing it properly is the key to a moist roast. Make sure you get all 4 sides. I didn't have any bay leaves, so I omitted them. I DID add sliced mushrooms to the pan with the onions. Family couldn't stop raving about the perfect roast I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
super good meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Excellent recipe. Meat is tender and the gravy, made according to the Dec. 19, 2003 review by DREGINEK is light and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 71-80 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States