Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
followed the recipe exactly. loved it. i used garlic salt on my roast and coated it before browning. i would use more minced garlic next time. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brambleberries

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This is the BEST recipe! It is the only way I make roast beef now. It is also the seasonings I use to make beef stock out of other cuts of beef. It makes a wonderful gravy and is great with yorkshire pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This recipe is perfect. I have been making beef roasts for years and this is one of the best recipes for an oven roasted roast. I used about a 3-4lb round boneless roast. Very moist, tender, excellent flavor (surprising for the lack of ingredients), sliced beautifully. Tossed in Yucon potatos the last 40 minutes (I tossed the potatos in olive oil and season salt before adding them). Follow the time and ingredients exactly to make the perfect roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yvie
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I made this and it was delicious! I had to slightly alter the recipe because I used a smaller roast (2 lbs). The only things I did different were: seared 2 min each side and cooked @ 300º for 1 hour. Once it was done, I let it rest and then pulled it into bit-sized chunks. This recipe really is perfect as is - there is no reason to add anything or take anything away. When it was done cooking, there was plenty of cooking juice in the pot. You could either spoon the onions over the meat or puree it. I left it as is because it was perfect. I highly recommend this recipe - it is SUPER easy and extremely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Yum, yum, yummmmmo! This was SO tender and moist, so delicious! My chuck roast was just over 2 and 3/4 lbs. i was skeptical about the absence of liquid, so I did add about 4oz of beef broth and a few splashes of worcestershire. I also sautéed the onions in the remaining olive oil and about 1 tbls of butter. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
The recipe is super easy and the taste is yummy...however--the only problem I had (and I followed the recipe to the T, as I seem to have issues with cooking pot roasts on my own), was that it was rather overdone. I don't like my beef to "moo" at me (ha!), but this was a little more well done than I normally like it. I will make it again, but will cut some of the time off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Smelled great! Tasted ... unremarkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I have to give this recipe 5 stars even though I changed it only to add liquid (beef stock and wine) and a bit of Herbes de Provence to the pot before covering and placing in the oven for several hours. The resulting gravy was so flavorful it needed nothing other than thickening. The meat was incredibly tender and juicy just falling apart when we were ready to enjoy it. It's the first pot roast I've ever made and won't change a thing when making it again.......and again.......and again. I love making Boeuf Bourguignon and consider it a complete labor of love due to the complexity of it. This pot roast was so easy and delicious it provides a wonderful alternative to spending 4 hours making Julia's famous recipe! Thanks so much for posting this! Aunt Tilly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt tilly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I have never cooked a pot roast in my life and I do not eat beef very often. I used this recipe and followed the review # 2 by Jeanne. WOW. I prepared a beef gravey on the side. I separated the veggies to a casserole and put them on the oven vent. I added the gravey to the remaining beef broth and thickend it a little. Like I said WOW!! Thank you All Recipies, and Jeanne!. Joellen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Loved this ! The more color you get on the sear, the more flavor your roast will have. And a cast iron skillet is perfect for this recipe, as it goes from stove top to oven and the cast iron will get you a sear that no other pan can. When you're plating this, scoop up a generous portion of the onions and garlic off the bottom of the pan and serve them over some great mashed potatoes. They were the absolute best part of this !!! One warning: Watch the roast weight. I did a 2 pound but failed to reduce the cooking time as the original recipe is written for a 4 pound roast. It came a bit overdone (still delicious) but that was entirely MY fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States