Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Tried this recipe tonight, exactly as stated, and I will never ever make it any other way! I was a little nervous about not adding any liquid to it but that fear was laid to rest when I got a over a pint of delicious beef juice to make my gravy with. Don't change anything.....very tasty, moist, and tender! I used my cast iron dutch oven for searing and roasting, which I think helped a lot. Just covered tightly with foil, and an hour and a half later.....perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This recipe is WONDERFUL. My husband really like this recipe. It is very moist and tender and did I say wonderful. I think it would be great if it had mushrooms but it is really good as it is. Didn't change a thing and followed the recipe to the tee. I love gravy and this gravy was awesome. Thanks Teresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
The perfect (every single time) pot roast. A suggestion from one who just seldom feels the need to follow directions & has to constantly tweek & personalize every recipe I feast my eyes on - JUST TRY to leave this one alone. It is perfect as it is, your guests will love it and you will be the little kitchen genius who knows how to make a perfect roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I've made this pot roast three different times. The first was low and slow and followed the recipe to a T. If you are looking for a roast that purely celebrates the meat than this is the way to do it. Plus doing it low and slow at 225 for 3.5 or 4 hours made it so tender and flakey like a fish. But for me I needed a little more flavor so the second time I did it low and slow again but added 3 or so more garlic cloves, carrots, potatoes and about 1 1/2 cups of white wine and 2 or so cups of water. I also seasoned the meat after searing with garlic powder,onion powder and S & P. this is the way I liked it best and just to warn you, I cooked it a third time exactly the same as the second except with beef broth instead of water but my roast was 2.95 lbs and I was short on time so I cooked it as the recipe stated and it was SO dry. I mean it was DRY DRY but the flavor was still there so warning to all: if your roast weighs less than what the recipe calls for and you aren't cooking it low and slow, check it after about an hour once you drop the temp. I still think low and slow is by far THE best way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This recipe is awesome. My husband and kids loved it. My 5 year old kept saying this is the best dinner ever. I followed the recipe exactly except I added carrots and potatoes. It turned out very tender and delicious. I will defiantly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This was simple and didn't take 2 1/2 hours. Moist, tender. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I forgot to review the first time I made this a couple of months ago! Since there are only the two of us I froze the leftovers and had two more meals! So I decided today I wanted this again, fortunately I was already on my way to the grocery store. Just want to say like a number of other reviewers, follow the recipe exactly!! I did, with some doubt, and it was perfect. So I'm doing it again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
A crowd pleaser at our house. Very simple but tasty. For 4 servings, I cut the meat to 2 pounds, but still used the full onion and 2 bay leaves. For the oven step, I added 1 cup of liquid (1/2 water, 1/2 red wine). Using a Le Creuset, I cut the cooking time to 30 minutes. To absorb the gravy, I mixed in boiled potatoes and carrots at the end of cooking. Yummy. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Came out very tough. Followed the directions. Seared and roasted in an enameled iron French oven. My roast was smaller so I cut back the cooking time and used a meat thermometer as well so I know it wasn't overcooked. This recipe was tough to cut through. Giving 3 stars instead of 1 in case the size of the roast would make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This recipe is terrific as written.... Please don't add water... I only cooked a 1.5 lb Chuck Roast and there was 3/4 cup of liquid at the bottom of the pan after it cooked.... I too was sick of stringy, flavorless chuck roast from the crock pot! This new bride is sold on searing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States