Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Sorry, I have to be one of the few that give this a low rating. I read all of the good reviews so I decided to put it on the Thanksgiving menu instead of turkey. I followed the directions to the letter and my roast was like shoe leather and dry as a bone. Back to the crock pot for me :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Not the worst thing I've ever eaten but it's not that far behind.... I followed the recipe to the letter and am very disappointed. The meat was dry, even with gravy, and it had absolutely no flavor. Not something I will ever make again. Bummed.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was great for slicing, and so easy. I let it rest more than 15 minutes and we didn't need or want the gravy. Served it with mashed potatoes and fresh garden grown green beans. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
made this last thanksgiving and my family loved loved loved it ! followed the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Ok so I never write reviews, always mean to, but sometimes, there aren't enough hours in the day! But I finished this roast nice and early, got it served and it was devoured in no time flat! My gang is not picky, but beef - roasts in particular - well, just one of those things that always end up with a ton of flavor but just never tender enough. Not this time! I followed the directions - well, almost to a T - because of some of the reviews, I added stock and because we love mushrooms, added those too. YUMMMMM!!!! My family is now asking me to tackle steak. Just another one of those that stump me! Thanks for the WONDERFUL recipe!! We will use this one often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Oh my gosh, this was fabulous! I followed the recipe exactly, as one of the reviewers suggested. This is my new, my only, pot roast recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I made this tonight, my first pot roast and it was really good! I did as a lot of reviewers suggested and didn't change the recipe except for replacing the bay leaf with some Italian seasoning and parsley (because my husband doesn't like bay leaves). It was so good for a chuck roast and I just took the pan right out of the oven took the roast out to rest and heated up the juice/onions/garlic till it was boiling and added some flour water to make a gravy. Very good, I'll be making this again :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I made it exactly as written. I too was skeptical about not adding liquid but plenty was generated - no worries there. The flavor of the roast was blah - sort of overpowering onion-y, greasy - blah and dry. Thank goodness for gravy packets! Love the idea of pot roast on a chilly fall day in New England but I believe my attempts at making pot roast are over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Tried this recipe tonight, exactly as stated, and I will never ever make it any other way! I was a little nervous about not adding any liquid to it but that fear was laid to rest when I got a over a pint of delicious beef juice to make my gravy with. Don't change anything.....very tasty, moist, and tender! I used my cast iron dutch oven for searing and roasting, which I think helped a lot. Just covered tightly with foil, and an hour and a half later.....perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This recipe is WONDERFUL. My husband really like this recipe. It is very moist and tender and did I say wonderful. I think it would be great if it had mushrooms but it is really good as it is. Didn't change a thing and followed the recipe to the tee. I love gravy and this gravy was awesome. Thanks Teresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States