Beef Pot Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This came out wonderful, even though I made a number of adjustments. I used leftover pot roast, which cut down on the prep time considerably. I added 1/4 c. chopped onion; 1 clove garlic, chopped; and 1 stalk celery sliced; and 1/2 t. Seasoned salt; 1/2 t. Italian Seasonings; and 1/4 t. pepper. After cooking the vegetables, I realized the remaining broth was not going to make enough sauce, so I also added one package of brown gravy mix, prepared, to the final sauce, and added a splash of red cooking wine. Instead of just frozen peas, I added 1/2 c. frozen corn as well. I pre-baked the bottom crust for about 7 minutes and it came out nice and flaky, not at all mushy. I added sliced mushrooms to the top of the vegetables in the pie before putting on the top crust. The one thing I didn't do, but will next time is layer the vegetables and sauce in the final assembly. I had just put the sauce over all the vegetables and it didn't soak through like I would have liked. This recipe probably would have been great with a lot less tinkering by me, but it came out wonderful even after playing with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
I am giving this recipe 5 stars even though I didn't follow it exactly. I used stew beef, put that in the bottom of the crock pot. Threw in the salt, pepper and cornstarch, added garlic and onion powder, then tossed to coat. I put the veggies in on top of that and poured in the beef broth. I cooked until beef was done and veggies were tender. Then I put it in a 9x13 pan, and dropped biscuits on top. I baked at 350 until the biscuits were done. We all loved it. Thank you for the base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This was a hit at my house. I found it easy and excellent. I did cheat though and instead of making the gravy I used 2 packs of brown gravy mix. I assure you this was the right amount of gravy and not dry. Will make again. But I do think using fresh veggies and not frozen is a biggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This is a good overall recipe. I did make a some changes. First, I added some seasoning (rosemary, sage, white pepper, thyme) to the raw meat before searing (locks in some flavorful juices). Then, I used a combination of water and dry red wine to stew the meat (skim any scum off). I removed the meat after it was done then cooked my vegetables in the same liquid as the beef (add water & salt as necessary) . By doing this it will give you a better tasting gravy which will need less cornstarch because the vegetable starches which will help to act as a thickening agent. Adjust the salt, white pepper and seasonings to taste. I also added sliced mushrooms at the end. I have found that if you increase your vegetables slightly, you will have enough for 2 pies. I used a homemade double crust to which I added about a teaspoon each of dried rosemary, thyme and some pinches of salt & white pepper to the flour before cutting in the shortening. It really makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
I prepared and froze this dish for my 'once-a-month cooking' group--I thawed and cooked my pot pie this evening, and it was great! I made a few changes to the recipe that made it a good bit easier--I used a frozen green pea/carrot mix for the veggies, and I also used frozen cubed hash brown potatoes for the potatoes. Since I was going to be freezing my pies, I didn't precook the veggies at all (didn't even thaw them!), just added them into the pie and covered with gravy--it was a lot easier! I also added some undiluted cream mushroom soup and dry brown gravy mix to the sauce, and was then able to omit the cornstarch. My family enjoyed this a lot, even my 19-month-old! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
Everyone LOVED this pie. Adjustments: I left out the peas and added a can of sliced mushrooms. I used the broth from the simmered meat (yielded one cup)in addition to the can of beef broth. After the potatoes and carrots (and I added a large, diced onion) were cooked, there wasn't much broth left. I also added 1/3 cup of red wine to the gravy. The flavor of this pie was outstanding. My crusts cooked for one hour at 375 degrees so plan according to the directions on the box! I'm going to try this pie filling in a crock pot the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
The recipe is good, but I made a couple of changes which made it easier for me. I dredged the meat in flour and seasoning before browning. It made a wonderful gravy which I used to cook the vegatables. I didn't have to use the broth or the cornstarch. I also added celery and onion to the vegetables. I also cooked it in a caserole dish with only a top crust. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Why do people CONSTANTLY rate their OWN version of these recipes 5 stars?! The entire point is to give feedback to the person who created/posted it. If you're going to change it up then don't bother rating it at all, because that's not accurate. I made this recipe EXACTLY AS STATED and it turned out great! Kudos to you for coming up with something tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I used leftover grilled steak-really worth grilling up extra steaks just for this. I like to make many small pies and shove them in the freezer for nights when I can't cook or plain don't feel like it. Easy enough to put cooking directions on the pie and let your family make dinner for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
I made this pot pie in my culinary class and everyone loved it!!! I added onions and fresh garlic to it, and used my own pie crust. It was delicious!!! I want to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States