Beef Pot Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
ok, but very dry. Too much pastry. May try again to modify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
The taste of this was god. I added some red wine to the mix for a more adult flavor. The pie took way longer to cook than the instructions said & the bottom came out kind of soggy. My husband wasn't too impressed with this one. I'll stick to chicken pot pies from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
would be better with a little bit of wine added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Fantastic. I made the recipe without the pie shell, I made biscuits insead. But it would have been good with a pit shell too I am sure. My husband loved it. I did add some seasoning to the water for the beef, I think that helped with flavor, and I only used 2T of cornstarch for the gravy. (I started with 2T and held the 3rd out to see if I would need it - didnt!)It would have been way too thick with 3T as called for so I gave 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Quick, easy and delicious! I added mushrooms and celery and cooked the meat in a crockpot but otherwise followed the recipe as it is written. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Great recipe left out peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
THIS is REALLY good. I've made a turkey/chicken pot pie before ... never a beef one. My husband and I would DEFINITELY have this again. I added chopped onion - which really enhanced the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This came out wonderful, even though I made a number of adjustments. I used leftover pot roast, which cut down on the prep time considerably. I added 1/4 c. chopped onion; 1 clove garlic, chopped; and 1 stalk celery sliced; and 1/2 t. Seasoned salt; 1/2 t. Italian Seasonings; and 1/4 t. pepper. After cooking the vegetables, I realized the remaining broth was not going to make enough sauce, so I also added one package of brown gravy mix, prepared, to the final sauce, and added a splash of red cooking wine. Instead of just frozen peas, I added 1/2 c. frozen corn as well. I pre-baked the bottom crust for about 7 minutes and it came out nice and flaky, not at all mushy. I added sliced mushrooms to the top of the vegetables in the pie before putting on the top crust. The one thing I didn't do, but will next time is layer the vegetables and sauce in the final assembly. I had just put the sauce over all the vegetables and it didn't soak through like I would have liked. This recipe probably would have been great with a lot less tinkering by me, but it came out wonderful even after playing with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I used leftover grilled steak-really worth grilling up extra steaks just for this. I like to make many small pies and shove them in the freezer for nights when I can't cook or plain don't feel like it. Easy enough to put cooking directions on the pie and let your family make dinner for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This was really good - everybody liked it. I was surprised at how much flavor it had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States