Beef Pot Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Kat
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Excellent recipe! I love the fact that it doesn't have any pre-made soups in it. I did alter this a bit (added onion, celery and more spices) but otherwise I didn't change a thing. I did have to bake it for 45 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made the filling like I would a pot roast. I cooked the roast in my crockpot on high for about three and a half hours, adding the potatoes and vegetables an hour and half before the meat was done. I did add some onion and minced garlic and worcestershire to the beef broth. After it was all cooked, I mixed up a packet of dry brown gravy mix with the gravy in the crockpot, then poured it over the filling in the pie crust. I also baked the bottom crust before filling it. It was pretty good! My husband and I ate the whole thing ourselves because he especially liked it. I think next time, I'll try using green beans with the carrots. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
this was pretty good, although i made several adjustments. first i used venison steaks and dredged in flour, s&p, thyme, and garlic powder and after browning, i added the water, a beef bouillon cube, and about 3T. of worcestershire and only cooked in the water for about 1hr (i didn't even really need to do this my venison was tender to begin with). i used 1 large potato, 2 carrots, 2 mushrooms, 1 celery stalk, half a can of corn, about 1/2 c. frozen peas and like others suggested used the water from the meat pan to add with my beef broth, also spiced the veggie water with 1 garlic clove, s&p, celery seed, thyme. as far as the gravy is concerned, i did make a packet of brown gravy mix but tried to use as little as possible the sauce you make is so good i hated to ruin it by adding but it needed more liquid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherryebomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Yummy! This was hearty and easy. I wanted to cut out some of the calories, so I used pork chops. But it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
yummy with beef gravey on top. I added onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
wonderful, my family loved this i made smaller pies so everyone had there own so this made four pies and they were great will be making these again i did use frozen peas/carrots and frozen chunked hash-browns it made it quicker and easier for me they were great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
time consumming but, worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasityk5592

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This pie was quite delicious. To save time, I used leftover tri-tip and and roasted red baby potatoes. I sauteed the carrots with onions and garlic. After removing the carrots/onions/garlic from the skillet, I cooked the beef broth and cornstarch/water mixture in the skillet until it thickened into a nice gravy. Then, I added all the ingredients to the gravy, placed it in a pie plate with homemade crust, and baked it until the crust was brown. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
My BF "Dig a hole in the backyard and bury it. Dig a deep enough hole, so if you make it again, there's room for your body." It was edible for me, but he couldn't even look at it. He covered it with paper towels. I added a cup of wine to the broth, and extra spices such as sage and thyme. I also added a sauteed onion. No salvaging this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I made this dish on a cold night. I had a 2 lbs of sirloin steaks. They werent the greatest cut of meat. I had no idea what to do since it was too cold to gril. I pulled these out FROZEN threw them in a pot of water (just enough to cover it) with the same amount of bullion cubs. Boiled about 2 hrs until tender enough to shred. After shreding beef and returning it to the pot, I cut up some potatoes threw them in and cooked about 15 or so mins til done. I added a bag of frozen veggie mix (Carrots corn peas green beans) and cooked a few mins. Added garlic powder, black pepper to taste and the cornstarch. I put it in a 13X9 pan covered with the pie crust and baked until crust was done. Delish!! Impressed the heck out of the in-laws!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States