Beef Pot Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was very good. I wanted to cut down on the time, so instead of boiling the meat for 2-3 hours, I browned with onions and garlic and then boiled for 30-45 minutes. It wasn't fall apart tender, but got it done much sooner. I also used canned potatoes and carrots to cut down on the prep time of the veges. When making the gravy, I added onion powder, garlic salt, salt and pepper. I baked for 25 minutes, that wasn't nearly long enough for crust to get crisp, so had to double the time. Overall the finished product was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This is a really easy recipe, though it takes a long time to make. Took me almost 5 hours total. But it was DELICIOUS!!! My husband had seconds so I know it was really good because he hardly ever has seconds. I did make a few modifications: used a beef bouillon cube when simmering the steak and added some red cooking wine. Then when the carrots and potatoes were cooking, I added garlic, onion, thyme and fresh rosemary. I had to add some water to the gravy mixture because there wasn't much left after cooking everything else. I might use 2 cans of beef broth next time. The one thing that annoyed me a little was that it made a lot, way too much for 1 pie pan. So I used a bigger dish, which the pie crust didn't exactly fit but I stretched it out to fit. Baked it for 50 mins and it was perfect. Definitely will be making this one again; it's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Why do people CONSTANTLY rate their OWN version of these recipes 5 stars?! The entire point is to give feedback to the person who created/posted it. If you're going to change it up then don't bother rating it at all, because that's not accurate. I made this recipe EXACTLY AS STATED and it turned out great! Kudos to you for coming up with something tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This was simply AWESOME! I cheated and had leftover prepared beef pot roast from Costco (Mortons) and used it in place of the first two ingredients. Everyone loved it and you can add whatever vegetables you prefer or have in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Delicious! I loved the way the steak was cooked to get it really tender. I did have to keep adding water but I used a VERY big wide pan. I used that pan because I had decided I would just throw all the veggies (except the peas) in the last 15 minutes or so of the beef cooking to make everything easier and quicker. Worked like a charm ;) Of course like all my pot pies I can never seem to get it to look pie-ish on the plate lol! Unless I completely cool it down I see it impossible! Anyway, my family REALLY enjoyed this (especially the hubs) so thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This was good, but I miss the potatoes that they use to put in the frozen pot pies so I added a can of diced potatoes and that made it perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
just sat down to eat our beef pot pie.. and it was delious.. cooked as directed.. the only thing is oven time was to short left it in for 45 mins.. perfect..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was very good, but I think the bake time, listed as 25 minutes at 350 degrees F, is incorrect. It took 45 minutes at that temperature to be browned sufficiently in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I added garlic and onion powder, and pre-cooked the beef in a slow cooker. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Super! Dredged beef strips in half cornstarch- half flour... Gravy was perfect. Added raw chopped veg in last 10min of cooking beef, it didn't need any additional beef stock. Used onion, carrot, celery and potato as the veg. Popped it in individual casserole dishes, shortcrust pastry on top, served with chopped parsley topping on the side... Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States