Beef Pot Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Im only giving 4 stars because i added alot more seasoning's! and i used a bag of frozen mixed veggies and used stew meat this was simple to prepare and Tasted amazing!! I made my own pie crust from this site!! A keeper in my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This recipe is awesome! My whole family loved it. The only thing was that it was kind of bland tasting. Next time I am going to add garlic. I did frozen mixed veggies instead of the veggies listed, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
LOVE! LOVE! LOVE!! Worth the time to put into this. Made this with homemade pie crust for the next day! Daddy had to eat some right away, he just couldn't resist! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama and Daughters

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This recipe was very good and delivered an excellent meal! I used leftover prime rib from our Christmas dinner, so I did not have to go through all the meat prep - I would probably only make this using some sort of meat leftovers. I also added 1/2 yellow onion, diced very finely and did not add the carrots to the broth until the last 5 minutes so that they did not get too mushy. A full cup of peas was a bit much (and I like peas!) I used 16oz water and 2 boullion cubes rather than beef broth and did find that I needed to add more liquid when I made my gravy (I actually ended up just adding some leftover gravy from Christmas dinner). The bake time ended up being more like an hour; when I make it again I will raise the heat just a bit and aim for a bake time of about 45 minutes. All in all, really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was a delicious beef pie. I had leftover pot roast and au jus that I put to use instead of the sirloin steak and canned beef broth. And since there are only 2 of us at home I cut the recipe in half, cooked it in a small casserole dish and only used a top crust. This is a real keeper for using up leftover roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkingfit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I have made chicken, turkey & veggie pot pies since I was about 10, but never a traditional "homemade" from scratch beef pot pie. I've made Shepard's pie, enchilada pie, and every kind of quiche imaginable (including about 8 original quiche recipes, like my Reuben quiche). I already had a good idea about what to put in a beef pot pie, & how to season it to our taste, but wasn't sure about how to thicken the gravy so it isn't too thin or to thick. I just found this site last week, when looking for a recipe for a Barbie Doll Cake. Everyone was so helpful I figured I could get some info here. This recipe was most helpful regarding thickening, so I based my beef pot pie on this procedure. Admittedly, I also added some veggies I like, like celery & mushrooms, and more seasonings, but it came out perfect with respect to the sauce, and we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was very good. I wanted to cut down on the time, so instead of boiling the meat for 2-3 hours, I browned with onions and garlic and then boiled for 30-45 minutes. It wasn't fall apart tender, but got it done much sooner. I also used canned potatoes and carrots to cut down on the prep time of the veges. When making the gravy, I added onion powder, garlic salt, salt and pepper. I baked for 25 minutes, that wasn't nearly long enough for crust to get crisp, so had to double the time. Overall the finished product was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This is a really easy recipe, though it takes a long time to make. Took me almost 5 hours total. But it was DELICIOUS!!! My husband had seconds so I know it was really good because he hardly ever has seconds. I did make a few modifications: used a beef bouillon cube when simmering the steak and added some red cooking wine. Then when the carrots and potatoes were cooking, I added garlic, onion, thyme and fresh rosemary. I had to add some water to the gravy mixture because there wasn't much left after cooking everything else. I might use 2 cans of beef broth next time. The one thing that annoyed me a little was that it made a lot, way too much for 1 pie pan. So I used a bigger dish, which the pie crust didn't exactly fit but I stretched it out to fit. Baked it for 50 mins and it was perfect. Definitely will be making this one again; it's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Why do people CONSTANTLY rate their OWN version of these recipes 5 stars?! The entire point is to give feedback to the person who created/posted it. If you're going to change it up then don't bother rating it at all, because that's not accurate. I made this recipe EXACTLY AS STATED and it turned out great! Kudos to you for coming up with something tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This was simply AWESOME! I cheated and had leftover prepared beef pot roast from Costco (Mortons) and used it in place of the first two ingredients. Everyone loved it and you can add whatever vegetables you prefer or have in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States