Beef Pot Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Excellent! My husband ask me several times to find a recipe for pot pie. This was my first try and he really liked it. I used a basic flaky pie crust and was vert pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
Man, this was disappointing. Maybe pot pies just aren't for me, but this lacked flavor. If I ever do this again, I'm going to marinade the meat in some kind of sauce beforehand, and use sweet potatoes. Bland, bland, bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This was a hit at my house. I found it easy and excellent. I did cheat though and instead of making the gravy I used 2 packs of brown gravy mix. I assure you this was the right amount of gravy and not dry. Will make again. But I do think using fresh veggies and not frozen is a biggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Very good! Tastes great and the beef comes out so soft! It was a little dry though, some extra broth added when you make the potatoes would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This turned out very tasty, a little too runny though so next time will thicken more. I also was not crazy about the pie crusts, they didn't seem to hold the filling very well and seemed to get thin and mushy. Next time I will make my own and I'm sure it will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
I made this pot pie in my culinary class and everyone loved it!!! I added onions and fresh garlic to it, and used my own pie crust. It was delicious!!! I want to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME!!!! I made this tonight not only did my hubby love it but our cats did too!!!! (We only gave them a little) Wow great recipe!! Will share this with family and friends. Only I'd make a bit more gravey mine could have used a little more gravey. BUT NO COMPLAINTS Was still awesome!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sulphur, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
I am giving this recipe 5 stars even though I didn't follow it exactly. I used stew beef, put that in the bottom of the crock pot. Threw in the salt, pepper and cornstarch, added garlic and onion powder, then tossed to coat. I put the veggies in on top of that and poured in the beef broth. I cooked until beef was done and veggies were tender. Then I put it in a 9x13 pan, and dropped biscuits on top. I baked at 350 until the biscuits were done. We all loved it. Thank you for the base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Luckily I used the meat from a left over roast (which was already well seasoned) for this pot pie because otherwise I think it would have been really bland. Also, I cooked the veggies in the beef broth and then thickened it as directed, but it got very thick, very fast and really was hardly any gravy for the pot pie, just a small amout of gluey sauce, so the pot pie ended up rather dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This is a good overall recipe. I did make a some changes. First, I added some seasoning (rosemary, sage, white pepper, thyme) to the raw meat before searing (locks in some flavorful juices). Then, I used a combination of water and dry red wine to stew the meat (skim any scum off). I removed the meat after it was done then cooked my vegetables in the same liquid as the beef (add water & salt as necessary) . By doing this it will give you a better tasting gravy which will need less cornstarch because the vegetable starches which will help to act as a thickening agent. Adjust the salt, white pepper and seasonings to taste. I also added sliced mushrooms at the end. I have found that if you increase your vegetables slightly, you will have enough for 2 pies. I used a homemade double crust to which I added about a teaspoon each of dried rosemary, thyme and some pinches of salt & white pepper to the flour before cutting in the shortening. It really makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States