Beef Pot Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
Everyone LOVED this pie. Adjustments: I left out the peas and added a can of sliced mushrooms. I used the broth from the simmered meat (yielded one cup)in addition to the can of beef broth. After the potatoes and carrots (and I added a large, diced onion) were cooked, there wasn't much broth left. I also added 1/3 cup of red wine to the gravy. The flavor of this pie was outstanding. My crusts cooked for one hour at 375 degrees so plan according to the directions on the box! I'm going to try this pie filling in a crock pot the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
I prepared and froze this dish for my 'once-a-month cooking' group--I thawed and cooked my pot pie this evening, and it was great! I made a few changes to the recipe that made it a good bit easier--I used a frozen green pea/carrot mix for the veggies, and I also used frozen cubed hash brown potatoes for the potatoes. Since I was going to be freezing my pies, I didn't precook the veggies at all (didn't even thaw them!), just added them into the pie and covered with gravy--it was a lot easier! I also added some undiluted cream mushroom soup and dry brown gravy mix to the sauce, and was then able to omit the cornstarch. My family enjoyed this a lot, even my 19-month-old! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
I made this for dinner last night and everyone in my house loved it. My crust didn't look that great but the taste more than made up for it. I used the hasbrown potatoes also as well as the gravy mix. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moondusted

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Strawberry Plains, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
Very good! 100 times better than the frozen kind. Needed a little more salt and pepper added at the serving stage, but I will know next time to add extra to the gravy as it thickens. I will definitelty be adding this one to the family menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
This is a really GREAT recipe. It was very tasty and overally easy to put together. I used the "baby" carrots and red potatoes which cut off a little time for tenderization of the veggies. Thanks for the recipe; it was a big hit. Even my 6 year old liked it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
I love this recipe and so does my family. However, it's even yummier with extra sauce. I double the sauce, and it makes a huge difference. If you can't fit it all into the pie, serve the extra sauce on the side. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
I usually prepare chicken pot pie but tried this for the red meat lover in my household. We all enjoyed this recipe. I used frozen hashbrowns rather than fresh potatoes as suggested by another review. Also used the broth generated during the cooking of the steak rather than canned broth. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
WOW! Great recipe! Unfortunately I put too much meat and veggies in and didn't have enough of the gravy to really keep everything moist. Purely my error, though, and everyone LOVED this recipe. What fun, too! THANKS!-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Osawatomie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This is delicious! Followed previous reviewers tips and made the following changes: dredged meat in flour and cut way back on the cornstarch; added bay leaf to simmering meat, then removed before combining with other ingredients; spiced up with thyme, rosemary and fresh ground black pepper; doubled the sauce; made like casserole and only topped with one crust...but hubby said he'd like it next time as a pot pie with 2 crusts, as that was his favorite combined with meat/sauce. Also, next time I'll double the meat for my hungry growing teens. Thanks Stephanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schafer5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
Very tasty! You can make double the recipe and freeze on half for a pot pie later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States