Beef Pot Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
This is a really GREAT recipe. It was very tasty and overally easy to put together. I used the "baby" carrots and red potatoes which cut off a little time for tenderization of the veggies. Thanks for the recipe; it was a big hit. Even my 6 year old liked it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
I found this to be a really good recipe, the kids really liked it. The prep and cook time was a little misleading, because of the time it took to simmer the beef, but I enjoyed the recipe overall. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
I used the water I cooked the beef in as my 1/3 cup of water. I think it really added to the flavor. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
I prepared and froze this dish for my 'once-a-month cooking' group--I thawed and cooked my pot pie this evening, and it was great! I made a few changes to the recipe that made it a good bit easier--I used a frozen green pea/carrot mix for the veggies, and I also used frozen cubed hash brown potatoes for the potatoes. Since I was going to be freezing my pies, I didn't precook the veggies at all (didn't even thaw them!), just added them into the pie and covered with gravy--it was a lot easier! I also added some undiluted cream mushroom soup and dry brown gravy mix to the sauce, and was then able to omit the cornstarch. My family enjoyed this a lot, even my 19-month-old! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
I love this recipe and so does my family. However, it's even yummier with extra sauce. I double the sauce, and it makes a huge difference. If you can't fit it all into the pie, serve the extra sauce on the side. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
This was fine. Nothing special. I make stew that is similar and wouldn't bother using this recipe again. Good flavour. Also there was far too much for a pie plate so I cooked it in a pot with a top crust only
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
I usually prepare chicken pot pie but tried this for the red meat lover in my household. We all enjoyed this recipe. I used frozen hashbrowns rather than fresh potatoes as suggested by another review. Also used the broth generated during the cooking of the steak rather than canned broth. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
I made this for dinner last night and everyone in my house loved it. My crust didn't look that great but the taste more than made up for it. I used the hasbrown potatoes also as well as the gravy mix. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moondusted

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Strawberry Plains, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
Everyone LOVED this pie. Adjustments: I left out the peas and added a can of sliced mushrooms. I used the broth from the simmered meat (yielded one cup)in addition to the can of beef broth. After the potatoes and carrots (and I added a large, diced onion) were cooked, there wasn't much broth left. I also added 1/3 cup of red wine to the gravy. The flavor of this pie was outstanding. My crusts cooked for one hour at 375 degrees so plan according to the directions on the box! I'm going to try this pie filling in a crock pot the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
WOW! Great recipe! Unfortunately I put too much meat and veggies in and didn't have enough of the gravy to really keep everything moist. Purely my error, though, and everyone LOVED this recipe. What fun, too! THANKS!-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Osawatomie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States