Beef Pot Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This was a fantastic dish! Of course, I didn't follow the recipe to the letter, but it was a great jumping off point for me. I tossed the beef in flour, garlic powder, onion powder, kosher salt and fresh black pepper before browning. Instead of simmering it in water, I used 2 cups beef broth. I also threw in some balsamic vinegar to give it some tang. When it was time to cook the vegetables, I added extra beef broth to the leftover broth from the meat. I also mixed the gravy with the shredded beef and vegetables instead of pouring it on top. It was fabulous, and my husband said it's going to replace beef stew in my catalog of meals. I can't wait to eat it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keisha Millich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I love this recipe, Best pot pie I've ever had although I did change it a bit. I used Stew meat dredged in flour with Broiled steak seasoning, Mrs. Dash, Garlic, Onion salt and ground peper before browning. I used beef broth and simmered in crock pot. seperated beef from broth, cooked vegies in broth, used arrow root to thicken. browned bottom crust prior to filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iceworm
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
My family thought this was just okay. I felt it was a bit bland when made as is. Next time, I will alter to my family's taste. This definately needs more gravy and seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAEVYAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Excellent pot pie. I used a can of Campbell Beef Vegetable soup and liquid beef oxo. Thickened it with flour and it turned out fantastic. Added about 1 tbsp parsley and 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. This will make it in to my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
add 1 teaspoon northwoods seasoning 1 med. onion celery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Pretty good. I found I had to bake the pie longer than the directions said (more like 35-40 minutes) and that the beef didn't take nearly 2-3 hours to cook...more like 1 hour. I may increase the amount of gravy a bit next time and mix it in rather than just pouring it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This was awesome...the meat was so tender after simmering for 3 hours. I did tweak it alittle based on what i had on hand. I added frozen carrots with the potatos then i added frozen peas and corn (not thawed) when i mixed everything together. It was so filling and a good way to get my family to eat more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This is most definitely a 4 and a half star recipe. I made a few changes, only for personal preference. I'm sure it's fantastic as written. I used a little flour on the beef, I added garlic and Worcestershire sauce, and I added a little more liquid. I thought it was so good I could have made myself sick eating too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This is a great pie if you have leftover beef. I cut up 2 lbs of leftover roast and put 1/2 in pie crust. As someone else had suggested, I took 2 cups of beef broth and threw in cut up carrots, frozen peas and 2 cups of frozen hash browns. I boiled it together and strained it leaving the little bit of liquid still in the pan. Pour 1/2 over meat in crust. To drippings add 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and 1 pkg of brown gravy mix. (Another suggestion) Pour 1/2 into crust and repeat last layers. Cover with remaining crust and bake. It was wonderful and VERY EASY. Can't beat that. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Summit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This was delicious! Since stew meat can be expensive, I used patio steaks, cooked them whole, and then shredded them. You could use your favorite vegetables such as turnips, rutabagas, celery, whatever you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States