Beef Pot Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This is most definitely a 4 and a half star recipe. I made a few changes, only for personal preference. I'm sure it's fantastic as written. I used a little flour on the beef, I added garlic and Worcestershire sauce, and I added a little more liquid. I thought it was so good I could have made myself sick eating too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This is a great pie if you have leftover beef. I cut up 2 lbs of leftover roast and put 1/2 in pie crust. As someone else had suggested, I took 2 cups of beef broth and threw in cut up carrots, frozen peas and 2 cups of frozen hash browns. I boiled it together and strained it leaving the little bit of liquid still in the pan. Pour 1/2 over meat in crust. To drippings add 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and 1 pkg of brown gravy mix. (Another suggestion) Pour 1/2 into crust and repeat last layers. Cover with remaining crust and bake. It was wonderful and VERY EASY. Can't beat that. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph7271

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This was delicious! Since stew meat can be expensive, I used patio steaks, cooked them whole, and then shredded them. You could use your favorite vegetables such as turnips, rutabagas, celery, whatever you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I gave this recipe the five stars. First, it was very simple I did not have to create a pie crust from scratch. Two, this recipe is filling and will definately hold you. Third, the kids enjoyed it!!! The only thing I had changed was by adding Garlic Powder to the meat before pouring it into the pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I used this recipe for my first attempt at making this dish... It worked great, this is definitly something that I will add to my dinner list...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Excellent. I have never made a pot pie and my husband loves them. I used what I had in the house. Beef was the end piece of a beef tenderloin which I dusted with flour before browning. Also sauted mushrooms and onions together and added to beef. I needed to use these up. Then continued with the recipe as written. Results were awesome. Thank you for the posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Definitely a keeper, but it needs a little more than carrots and potatoes. I added a little corn, celery, and browned the steak with onions and various spices (a little Dijon mustard, too). I didn't boil the meat, either... I prefer it a with a little substance. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ctellifson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Very tasty. The only thing I did different was to saute a medium onion in the water that I used to boil the meat and then added the onion to the beef, potato, carrot mix. Also added a few canned mushrooms that I had left over. Quite good and will probably make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This is a great recipe! My family loved it. The flavor was great and it was simple to make...although a bit time consuming. The only change I would make is to add more gravy. With the recommended amount, mine turned out to be a little bit dry. I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forest Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
ok, but very dry. Too much pastry. May try again to modify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States