Beef Pot Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Patty
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This had a good home made taste and my whole family liked it. I added worcheshire, sirracha and some chopped onion and asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Loved this. Did not use the canned beef broth. Since the roast is getting cooked in water, it's easy to make gravy from this rather than canned broth. I threw in bay leaves, some dry onions and garlic (the last 2 cook down to mush, pretty much, but help flavor the meat as it simmered.) When I made the gravy, I removed the bay leaves. You could strain the liquid and remove fat, if you like. Figure a thin gravy ratio of 1 TBL cornstarch to thicken each cup of roast-cooking water you'd like to turn into gravy. Once the gravy thickens and I salt/pepper/season it to suit us, I combine with the meat and vegetables so I can make sure I have enough gravy before putting it in the shells. I follow another poster's suggestion to make from-scratch crusts and to pre-bake the bottom shell. I like to make this as a multiple-meal dish (ie Once a Month Cooking.) It can be done without crust if you can't be bothered, or with biscuit for a top crust. When freezing this for later meals, I PRECOOK until crust just starts to brown before freezing. This means that I only have to bake until hot (165 degrees in center) before serving. This also allows me to use the dish from frozen if I need to. There is some time penalty from frozen, but nothing like it would be if it had to COOK as well as thaw in the oven. Thawing first works better, but life is busy. Note: a layer of parchment paper under your bottom crust will allow you to remove the frozen pie from your baking dish for storage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keydancer
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
My husband gave this two thumbs up and said he would like to have it again...soon. I used cooked, cubed london broil that I had in the freezer so it only took a little over an hour to prepare and cook the pot pie. I don't like peas so I left them out and added one stalk of celery and three green onions, sliced. I also reduced the cornstarch and added three tablespoons of brown gravy mix to help thicken the broth and make it richer. It is a very adaptable recipe that allows you to add and delete vegetables to your taste. It was perfect comfort food on a cold, snowy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buzzingcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was a good start for a beef pot pie. I will however experiment with different herbs to try to make it taste more like Swanson's hungry man's beef pot pie...my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
The only thing I changed was the crust. Made my own. I used the home made crust from a chicken pot pie recipe and used it, nothing like home made pie crust !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debsart7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This was really good.I will be making this again.Did us a box of veg broth mixed in with the beef broth.They were both opened so I wanted to use it.I also added onions,as my family loves onions and added garlic powder to the beef.With the veggies I also added frozen mix veggies as I only had a few left.good way of using up ingreds.I will be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
EXCELLENT!!! I did add some extra seasonings based on other people's suggestion. I added sage, thyme, rosemary, celery salt, & garlic powder to the gravy mixture. I also recomend using 2-3 times the beef broth so you have something to make the gravy with. My first can of broth was almost gone by the time my carrots and potatoes where done coooking. I highly recommend this recipe as everyone in my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Im only giving 4 stars because i added alot more seasoning's! and i used a bag of frozen mixed veggies and used stew meat this was simple to prepare and Tasted amazing!! I made my own pie crust from this site!! A keeper in my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This recipe is awesome! My whole family loved it. The only thing was that it was kind of bland tasting. Next time I am going to add garlic. I did frozen mixed veggies instead of the veggies listed, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States