Beef Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This is really very good - with a flavor that's suprisingly complex for a pot pie. I was looking for a way to use up some leftover steak and this definitely fit the bill. I took the advice of the previous reviewers and added about half a can of beef broth with the wine, then thickened the liquid with cornstarch right before baking. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
It is a little time consuming but it was worth it. I believe the previous person used phyllo dough instead of puff pastry. I used the puff pastry and I also added 1/2 cup beef broth. Then I added 2 tbls butter along with 1/4 cup cream. Gave it a richer flavor. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2000
This was a little time consuming, but totally worth it! I increased the quantities of the veggies (almost double) and used a double pie crust vs. the puff pastry. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I added some beef broth and cornstarch to the recipe to make more gravy. Also added a little more beef and placed in individual backing dishes and then it only made 5 servings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Excellent recipe, great flavor! I did add some beef broth (as suggested) and added some cornstarch to thicken the sauce to more of a gravy. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsbourne
Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
I don't know if I did something wrong in prep, but I didn't think the sauce was nearly thick enough. Also, the phyllo dough was lacking the nice flavor of a traditional crust. I don't think I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I thought it was great though I did change a few things. I added beef broth and a can of cream of mushroom soup. I also thickened it with a little corn starch. I love the flavor the wine added though I used just plain old cooking wine because I had it on hand. I also added green beans. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Easy and elegant! Nice twist on a perfect comfort food. Used a merlot, needed salt, I felt, but that could be me. Loved it anyway! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeaky6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
It was tasty, but I agree with other reviewers - not quite enough sauce. Will add some broth next time. I had pork tenderloin on hand, which I decided to use instead of beef, and it was good. I also used refrigerated pie crusts in lieu of the puff pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I was looking for a recipe to use up some left over roast, and found this one. I only made minor modifications. I added an extra 1/2 Cup of beef broth with corn starch added in to make more gravy. I also used a double pie crust rather than the puff pastry....just personal preference. I only simmered the vegetables for 20 minutes...they were done by then, and then I added my left over roast which didn't need to be cooked. I started it out on 375 degrees and cooked it for 20 minutes, and then cut the heat down to 350 for about 20 minutes (didn't really keep track). It made a BEAUTIFUL pie (should have taken a picture!!). My husband ate seconds, and said he really enjoyed it. I thought the wine gave it a good flavor. Will definitely use this recipe again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States