Beef Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Turned out wonderful..I used cresent rolls from dairy section for top...easy and as we were having dinner..my husband kept saying how good it was..thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I thought it was great though I did change a few things. I added beef broth and a can of cream of mushroom soup. I also thickened it with a little corn starch. I love the flavor the wine added though I used just plain old cooking wine because I had it on hand. I also added green beans. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Absolutely fabulous! Best pot pie I've ever made. I didn't have any red potatoes on hand, so I substituted a small sweet potato and substitued red cooking wine for the Marsala wine, as I did not have that on hand. Also sub'd canned mushrooms for fresh and made a Bisquick topping, again, not having fresh mushrooms or puff pastry on hand. Based on other reviews, I added 2 tbsp of butter, 1/2 c water with a beef bouillon cube and added cornstarch at the end to thicken the liquid. We didn't have any leftovers last night! My husband went back for 3rds!!! A DEFINATE KEEPER!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield Springs, New York, USA
Living In: Great Bend, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
While this recipe took a long time for me to prep, it was well worth it- even with a not-so-expensive cut of meat, the taste was wonderful. I have used this with varied vegetables and chicken, and it always turns out great. Again- a good one if you have kids or someone to help prep, but the end product was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was very very good, I had to substitute canned mushrooms and I added some leftover heavy cream that I had but this was very delicious, the crust turned out just like I wanted it to be, so thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Didn't have marsala wine but beef buillon cube in water worked. Might want to add more water depending on how juicy you want it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Everyone loved the taste and flavor! I had leftover steak, potatoes and asparagus. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Easy and elegant! Nice twist on a perfect comfort food. Used a merlot, needed salt, I felt, but that could be me. Loved it anyway! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeaky6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Excellent recipe, great flavor! I did add some beef broth (as suggested) and added some cornstarch to thicken the sauce to more of a gravy. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsbourne
Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This is really very good - with a flavor that's suprisingly complex for a pot pie. I was looking for a way to use up some leftover steak and this definitely fit the bill. I took the advice of the previous reviewers and added about half a can of beef broth with the wine, then thickened the liquid with cornstarch right before baking. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States