Beef Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This is so delicious! Even my husband ate leftovers, two days in a row! That is unprecidented! There is just the two of us so it took a couple of days to eat it but is was great as leftovers. Unfortunately I had to use regular homemade pie crust(which worked great) instead of the puff pastry. I'm definitely going to try this again but with the puff pastry. I'm sure it will be "over the top"! Bg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Rock, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by faithirene
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was a huge hit with me and my husband! I followed a few others advice and added beef broth and corn starch. I omitted celery for personal preference. I used left over beef roast which I was worried would come out over cooked but it was perfect! The puff pastry was a great addition, I had never had a pot pie with this and I will be making it again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Verygood. I added wine and beef broth and let the meat brown in a pan on its own. Other then that I followed the recipe as stated. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Great recipe! I did not have porcini mushrooms, so used portabella. Also did 2 potatoes, as one seemed too little. Oh, and the recipe does not call for salt or pepper, but I seasoned while in the pan while sauteeing, because it definitely needed some s&p!!! Overall - loved it, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I was looking for a recipe to use up some left over roast, and found this one. I only made minor modifications. I added an extra 1/2 Cup of beef broth with corn starch added in to make more gravy. I also used a double pie crust rather than the puff pastry....just personal preference. I only simmered the vegetables for 20 minutes...they were done by then, and then I added my left over roast which didn't need to be cooked. I started it out on 375 degrees and cooked it for 20 minutes, and then cut the heat down to 350 for about 20 minutes (didn't really keep track). It made a BEAUTIFUL pie (should have taken a picture!!). My husband ate seconds, and said he really enjoyed it. I thought the wine gave it a good flavor. Will definitely use this recipe again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
My friend make this a few days ago and I liked it so much making it this weekend for hgubbie. I also will add broth, butter and cornstarch and using pie crusts. Good meal for a cold fall day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Woodboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight, and it's all gone. I put in mushrooms, carrots, celery, dandelion greens, asparagus, and double onions and garlic. Hopefully next time I'll have some potatoes on hand. I used beef round steak since I wasn't willing to go with anything more expensive for a potpie. I had to substitute burgundy as I was out of merlot. I also added salt and pepper to taste and approx 1 tsp basil and made my own crust. All in all, it was very tasty! The meat was cooked at such a low temp for so long that it was excellent- flavorful and tender. I did thicken the sauce with corn starch, I wish I hadn't as I didn't have much gravy inside the pie. Hubby said he'd rate it lower as written, but it's a perfect starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
this was nice, but i've had better. i found i had to season it well before i put it in the oven, and even the end result was missing 'something'. we enjoyed it, but i won't be in a rush to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I added 3 Tb. corn starch to thicken the sauce and also used leftovers in place of the veggies and tenderloin. With the thickening agent and already cooked leftovers, it doesn't need to simmer more than 10-15 minutes. It was GREAT! My husband, who doesn't like casseroles of any type, really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Turned out wonderful..I used cresent rolls from dairy section for top...easy and as we were having dinner..my husband kept saying how good it was..thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States