Beef Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Yummie, I made it almost like the recipe.. I used different meat (not by choice) and it was still very good! Next time I will double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Great Pho. I made it per recipe and it was very good. I will make two changes to adjust to my own taste. I would cut the star anise pods by half and only add 1.5 gallons of water. I had to simmer it an additional 2-3 hours to reduce the volume to up the beef flavor. I believe it will be resturant quality with these adjustments. I would serve it to dinner guest any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bud W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Pho is the best! I used shrimp instead of meat, and used mung bean noodles for a change. Thin egg noodles are also really good because they don't get soggy! I didn't have the time to make the broth from scratch, so I used canned beef broth but still boiled everything else for an hour. It tasted almost as good as the Pho place I use to work at :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Fabulous! Wonderfully authentic. Gives all the right garnishes as well. As good as the Pho shops in Seattle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I've made this recipe twice. Two ounces of star anise pods is a lot...I'm going to back off on those just a touch. But other than that, this is a great, authentic recipe. Knowing a few basic broth-making tips is key to this traditional soup: 1) be vigilant about skimming the scum off the top of the broth, and 2) always simmer, never boil the broth or the "scum" will be broken down and churned back into the broth making it gray instead of clear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danny_the_bull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Very very good! My BIL introduced us to Pho in some nice little restaurants in Houston and I was trying to get rid of some rice noodles I had purchased by accident and I thought of Pho. I substituted chicken backs for the beef bones, as we don't eat beef. I didn't put slices of chicken in the bowls because I can't cut the chicken breasts thin enough (yet!). I let the broth simmer all day (starting at 8 AM and dinner at 5). My 4 and 6 year old and the picky neighbor kid who ate dinner with us that night, LOVED this meal. We will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Fantastic authentic pho bo recipe. My husband and I spent a whole month in Vietnam and this tastes perfect. I halved the water amount to 2 gallons. I only used beef neck bones for a nice clear broth. I didn't use the radish. In cheese cloth I used Anise seed, ground cinnamon, ground peppercorns, and a lot more cloves. I about doubled all the spices as I'm used to very aromatic pho. I added the tablespoon of fish sauce and sugar and simmered for the 6 hours. Paper thin sirloin was great! Loaded it with only cilantro and green onions and noodles just like in Hanoi and this dish was delish! Thank you for such a great recipe to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smartyounglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
YUM ! I love and eat pho all the time. This is alot of work but so worth it and is very very good for homecooked pho broth ! Every ingredient mentioned in the recipe is a must for the authenicity.... the daikon, fish sauce, down to the garnishes of Thai sweet basil ( not the Italian kind ) Sriracha sauce etc... I am telling you. The soup is so fragrant the smell will flow all through your house... Truely the ONLY pho recipe on this website that is worth your tastebuds. ***No lemongrass or garlic in pho !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Wow this was a lot of work but worth it! My hubby and I were craving some Pho and they don't have any Vietnamese restaurants where we moved to. (Oh man do I miss the Asian food in Los Angeles!) It was good but the broth was really rich and milky. I think this was from the suggestion of using beef knucle which usually makes a milky broth. Not like the clear delicate broth I'm used to getting. I should have gone with my gut instinct and gotten a boneless cut. I think part of the problem is that I also didn't leave the spice bag in longer than 5 min. That was a personal thing.. I was tasting the broth and any longer would have been too strong on the spices for my taste. I added a large 'sweated' onion and toasted the spices before making the spice bag per suggestions. Also be warned.. you WHOLE house will smell of this broth it's pretty potent. Leave the windows open. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I love this recipe! A few added ingredients to make it better: Boil some beef tendons and beef tripes. You want to boil the beef tendons until it becomes very soft. It takes at least 6-8 hours but it is absolutely worth it. My husband loves the beef tendons and always request extras when I make pho for us. The beef tripe can be boil with the soup. Plus, I usually substitute the beef oxtails and sirloin with beef ribs! The beef rib bones gives great flavors as well, if not more! I usually also throw in some peeled shrimps for more flavoring. As you can see, I love a lot of meat in my soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States