Beef Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I am simmering the broth right now and it smells FANTASTIC. I did not use star anise, or radish because I didn't have them on hand.. but if it tastes as good as it smells, I don't think me or my guys will have anything to worry about! (I am a caretaker of 5 teenage boys). I did use a small handful of dashida (Korean beef soup base) earlier on instead of boiling beef knuckle for 2 hours... okay, okay so I cheated a bit, but it's my first time and I can only improve from here, right? ;) I'll try to upload a photo tomorrow when I serve this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Couldn't find beef knucles and didnt' have enough anise pods. That being said, the broth smelled better than it tasted. Lacking a little something. This takes a lot of work, but alas, we no longer live near any Vietnamese restaurants and I crave Pho. I will definitely try it again using more anise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
excellent recipe, i added tripe to with the ox tail and they were very tender and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This is a great basic recipe for pho; however, you don't have to get the expensive stuff in terms of bones! I just go to the butcher at the grocery store and they cut up whatever bones they have. I've made it this way multiple times, and it turns out great! Also, if you lightly toast the spices before putting them in the bag, the soup will be much more aromatic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PookiePie214

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Lagdameo
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I followed this recipe to the T, and I think this recipe is just average. I honestly will not try to cook this again because its too much work for a noodle soup. Pho is very inexpensive where I live, so I think i will just continue to patronize our favorite pho place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Lagdameo
Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Love this, way better than oxtail versions. I'm doing a virtual tour on my site, Spa Around the World and am including this as the Cuisine pick! Thanks. Spa wishes, Candy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I LOVE this recipe! I lessen the star anise to maybe an ounce instead of 2. It's flavorful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I made this today with great anticipation. The house smelled wonderful while the broth was cooking...unfortunately it did not have enough flavor when we were eating it. I followed the recipe exactly but we were disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is a pretty authentic recipe. The one thing that strikes some as off here is the radish. It's dried radish that is used and it has a completely different taste- it will be packaged and labeled as dried radish or preserved radish and you will probably only find it at an asian market. Other than that great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
im vietnamese and what we do is we boil water and then add flatteneda lemongrass and tie it and put it in there with galanga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States