Beef Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Best recipe for pho I've ever tried. I omit the daikon, but this broth is Excellent! TIP for slicing the beef: Put it in the freezer until it's partially frozen (or thaw it until it's still partly frozen). This allows you to slice it very thinly because it's firmer and sturdier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinderelly007

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Very good! Just what I needed to try making pho for the first time. I changed it a little after reviewing lots of other recipes & member comments. I used two 3-inch pieces of ginger root, charred, peeled & sliced lenghthwise; revised spices to 10 whole star anise, 4 whole cloves & toasted them with the cinnamon stick in a dry skillet to bring out the flavors. Charred the 2 onions, placed them hot in a plastic bag wrapped in a towel,& let sweat for 10 minutes before peeling. Then quartered & added the now soft and sweet onion to the broth to be removed with the bones & spices. I needed to add boullion cubes to get more beef flavor. Next time I'll start with a gallon of water & add as needed. Having the butcher slice a roast thin enough to see through was a great idea; placed atop the hot noodles in the heated bowls, it cooked instantly when the boiling broth was poured over. There's enough sliced roast left for more pho or stir-fries. My spouse said "delicious, did this take you a long time to make?" I said "Eight hours". I didn't tell him that included the shopping-&-putting-things-away time & the 6+ hours of slow simmer. So cooks! Don't be afraid try this! It's easier than chili and can be adapted to fit your slow cooker-or use your canner to make the whole batch. It delicately scents the air--breathe deep! I served with sprigs of Anise basil & cilantro; sliced jalepeno & green onion; & quartered lime. To start, we had Summer Rolls & dipping sauce(recipes this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very authentic flavor... I was pleasantly surprised! Substituted a couple of other soup bone/meat cuts for the stock, but by and large followed this recipe. Also used the stock meat (shredded) for thai meatballs to go along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This recipe was really good but I alternated it. Oxtail are too expensive to use to make pho. Believe me, pho restaurants do not use oxtails. You don't have to use oxtail. If you have access to an Asian store, use pho packets that already have the spices and you don't have to worry about measuring everything. Another tip, add carrots to ame the soup sweeter and also sugar to taste. If you want thin cuts of meat, you can freeze the who piece first and then slice it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I followed the recipe as instructed, but I don't think I will make this again because the ingredients cost about $40 and it was too much effort. I thought it was okay; I would rather go to my favorite restaurant to be fully satisfied. This recipe is definitely not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I didn't have six hours but knew I wanted the authentic taste Therefore I followed the recipe ingredients and made a rush broth boiling the fatty side of a leftover roast and a few meat chunks of beef for flavour. The roast was really rare and it is also what I cut up thin for the soup. After boiling the meat for 15 minutes I added the oher broth ingredients including the onion and ginger, I omited the cinnamon stick and anise pods as I was out and instead sprinkled in a pinch or two little golden dragon chinese five spice which consists of fennel, anise seed, ginger, clove, cinnamon. In the end I drained the broth and added thinly slices onion cut in rings the rare roast and noodles. It did the trick and in less then 40 minutes we were eating very authentic Beef pho. Given the short cut my husband and I both agreed it was a lot like the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Sub. the salt with 5 tablespoon of fish sauce, sub oxtail with trimmed brisket, 5 cloves star anise , not 2 ounces.roast the 2 whole onion, 2 ounces of ginger smash with the back of clever ,1 whole lime and last but not least NO bean sprout. I prefer beef tenderloin to sirloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
About to make - sounds wonderful. Just a comment about the picture, which shows some kind of meat balls, which don't appear in the recipe. Just make a note of the inconsistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
awesome recipe. You'll have to tweak the spices a little to fit your preference. However, this is expensive to make and takes too much effort. Great for a large party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I am simmering the broth right now and it smells FANTASTIC. I did not use star anise, or radish because I didn't have them on hand.. but if it tastes as good as it smells, I don't think me or my guys will have anything to worry about! (I am a caretaker of 5 teenage boys). I did use a small handful of dashida (Korean beef soup base) earlier on instead of boiling beef knuckle for 2 hours... okay, okay so I cheated a bit, but it's my first time and I can only improve from here, right? ;) I'll try to upload a photo tomorrow when I serve this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States