Beef Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Never heard of putting daikon radish in Pho, other than that OK, someone also suggested lemon grass, never heard of that in Pho also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was extremely good! I made a whole Pho Platter and my family (even less adventurous eaters) loved it. I served it with a side of Bok Choy, sauteed in sesame oil and garlic and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchengal

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Excellent, classic pho flavor! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Very good recipe really close to the places I know and I coudnt get any knuckle in less than 8 lbs so i used beef back ribs in place got em for 1.25 a lb lots of flavor excellent guideline for a white guy to figure out pho
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was my first time making pho and it was really good! BUTTTT I have some recommendations that I think will make a load of difference. My soup didn't really have the "pho" flavor entirely, so I had put some "pho beef flavor" bullions into my pho. I just added one cube at a time to taste. That really brought out the pho flavor. (and these cubes are super cheap! 79 cents :) !!!) I also took my onions, cut them in half, wrapped them in foil, and put it on the stove to cook them a bit. Also, I ended up finding a packet of "pho seasoning" that had star anise, cinnamon, cloves, and other ingredients in there so I got that instead. It came with a seasoning bag too that you can throw right into the soup base. I also used an extra slice of ginger. Also, I could not find beef knuckle, so a nice vietnamese lady told me to get beef bones instead and it worked out great. Oh and you MUST get the fresh noodles that come in the regridgerator section, this will make a HUGE difference in the taste of your noodles. I originally bought the dried flat pho noodles and I did not like them at all. My boyfriend (who is vietnamese) told me to get the fresh ones from the cold section and those were like the ones you get from the store. =) Hope my review helps some folks! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toohahalarious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This was pretty good. I think more broth was needed, but that's my only criticism.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAVON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This pho rivals what I've had in some relatively expensive restaurants. I couldn't get my hands on oxtails or beef knuckle, so I used beef shank. I also had to omit the radish because I couldn't find it. Those changes were very minor, and did not affect the outcome. I also suggest making the broth a day ahead and skimming the fat off the top prior to reheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Bay, Alabama, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly with amazing results! I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This had great flavor, I will definitely make it again. I made a few changes to the recipe. Per other reviews, I used lemongrass instead of daikon radish. I also used beef soup bones instead of beef knuckle, as I was unable to find any. I wanted to leave it in the crock pot all day, so I started the soup bones the night before on low, then added the oxtail and flavor ingredients in the morning. I cranked it up to high to get it up to the recommended crock pot temperature, then let it simmer on low all day. Finally, to remove most of the fat, I ladled the end product into a ziplock gallon bag and let the fat float to the surface, then cut away a small piece of the corner to drain out the broth. I pinched off the stream before the fat came through for a nice, lean broth (do this step in batches).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY217

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Best recipe for pho I've ever tried. I omit the daikon, but this broth is Excellent! TIP for slicing the beef: Put it in the freezer until it's partially frozen (or thaw it until it's still partly frozen). This allows you to slice it very thinly because it's firmer and sturdier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinderelly007

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States