Beef Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I'm pretty new to pho and don't pretend to be an expert on the subject, but of the few recipes for pho on allrecipes, this is the most authentic imo. Good pho is all about the broth - it should be rich but light, meaty but fragrant; crumbling a beef bouillon cube into some hot water and tossing in a sliced onion isn't going to cut it! Personally, I omit the oxtail because they're just too expensive, and I use whatever meaty beef bones I can get at the store. Like any good stock, the key is simmering it slowly for as long as you can - I aim for 3 or 4 hours. I personally don't make it with daikon, but I don't think regular radish would be a bad substitute. You can't beat pho from a genuine Vietnamese restaurant, but this is a decent recipe to satisfy a craving! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Thank you for posting this recipe! I always told my mother that I was born in the wrong part of the world (Mexico)...I was meant to be Vietnamese :0) or just Asian for that matter. I drive and drive across town to have beef pho and just absolutely love it and wished I knew how to make it. I made this exactly as you said...with the exception of the Daikon Radishes (could not find them so I threw in some red ones) but anyway...it was FANTASTIC!!! thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
My daughter dated a man from Vietnam and he introduced me to pho. I loved the pho his mother made and the pho we ordered at restaurants. I tried this recipe and it was great but I have to admit that I like it better when someone else makes it. I probably won't make it again but it was fun to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly except I used beef soup bones found at my local grocery store. Was a little bland so I had to add more salt, but that could have been a personal taste. Other than that it turned out very close to authentic beef pho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I haven't tried this yet, but it looks fantastic...wondering if I can substitute red radish for daikon...anybody know?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Very good recipe, definitely worth the time taken to prepare the broth... However one tip to make it even healthier: prepare the broth the day before, and leave it over night on the refrigerator. Once it cools down all the fat from them meat will be on the top, so you just have to skim it out, before warming it again to before adding the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
441 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This was the best Beef Pho ever!!! I took along time to make but worth every minute. Would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
i haven't actually made this according to this recipe yet but my mum's been making it for years and it's great to see a recipe that actually tells you to make the broth, cause this recipe is all about the broth! it's not key to use ox-tali or beef knuckle, just as long as you have enough large beef bones. it's best to actually 'clean' the bones before you cook- either some vinegar or whisky with lots of hot water-gives a cleaner taste and a clearer broth. i also always grill the onion, anise, cinnamon, ginger and peppercorns first and place all in cheese cloth bag. finally a tip for preparing, to cook noodles place soaked noodles in a sieve and place in boiling water(stir if needed) til the noodles are just soft, make one bowl at a time and serve steaming hot. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
just like the restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I've never had pho, but my brother's girlfriend has and had been wanting to attempt to make her own at home for a while. I found this recipe and we decided to give it a try. I loved it and my brother's girlfriend was very pleased. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States