Beef Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This is a great basic recipe for pho; however, you don't have to get the expensive stuff in terms of bones! I just go to the butcher at the grocery store and they cut up whatever bones they have. I've made it this way multiple times, and it turns out great! Also, if you lightly toast the spices before putting them in the bag, the soup will be much more aromatic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PookiePie214

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Lagdameo
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I followed this recipe to the T, and I think this recipe is just average. I honestly will not try to cook this again because its too much work for a noodle soup. Pho is very inexpensive where I live, so I think i will just continue to patronize our favorite pho place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Lagdameo
Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Love this, way better than oxtail versions. I'm doing a virtual tour on my site, Spa Around the World and am including this as the Cuisine pick! Thanks. Spa wishes, Candy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I LOVE this recipe! I lessen the star anise to maybe an ounce instead of 2. It's flavorful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I made this today with great anticipation. The house smelled wonderful while the broth was cooking...unfortunately it did not have enough flavor when we were eating it. I followed the recipe exactly but we were disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is a pretty authentic recipe. The one thing that strikes some as off here is the radish. It's dried radish that is used and it has a completely different taste- it will be packaged and labeled as dried radish or preserved radish and you will probably only find it at an asian market. Other than that great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
im vietnamese and what we do is we boil water and then add flatteneda lemongrass and tie it and put it in there with galanga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Yummie, I made it almost like the recipe.. I used different meat (not by choice) and it was still very good! Next time I will double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Great Pho. I made it per recipe and it was very good. I will make two changes to adjust to my own taste. I would cut the star anise pods by half and only add 1.5 gallons of water. I had to simmer it an additional 2-3 hours to reduce the volume to up the beef flavor. I believe it will be resturant quality with these adjustments. I would serve it to dinner guest any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bud W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Pho is the best! I used shrimp instead of meat, and used mung bean noodles for a change. Thin egg noodles are also really good because they don't get soggy! I didn't have the time to make the broth from scratch, so I used canned beef broth but still boiled everything else for an hour. It tasted almost as good as the Pho place I use to work at :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States