Beef Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I must have done something wrong as mine came out really bad. I followed the recipe, but our broth had no flavor. I ended up adding some beef soup base, which made it taste better. We love pho and I wanted to surprise my kids. This ended up to be a very expensive dinner that no one enjoyed. Next time we will stick to our local pho sho. Thanks for the recipe-just did not seem to work for me. I still can not figure out what I did wrong as this recipe has such high ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I made this in my slow cooker, so I didn't have to sit around all day babysitting my stove! I couldn't find oxtail, so I used two lbs. of beef soup bones instead, cooked the spices and bones and broth for 6 hours, then sliced up leftover cooked steak, and added the slices at the end just to warm them up. Delicious, and great flavour, although I did take the cinnamon stick and anise out after 4 hours as I thought it was getting a bit too strong for my taste. I will make this again and again- thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deep River, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
this recipe turned out pretty well but a few things had to be done different. my mother inlaw is from laos and I love her pho, but wanted to check if there were variations that sounded yummy. The daikon is not needed and gives it a completely different flavor. Pho seasoning packets from any asian store work wonders and is much cheaper! Also putting the fish sauce and sugar in while cooking is not needed and actually the pho will taste much better if sugar and fish sauce are put in with the sriracha, garlic, bean sprouts ect. Another thing that can be added to pho with beef is tripe, it turns out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I'd recommend roasting the onions whole before adding to the broth. I'd use 4 onions. I'd also recommend wrapping spices in a cheese cloth so that the spice bag can be taken out after about 4.5 hours, while the broth should cook on simmer (low heat) for about 7 hours. I'd add 2 cloves of raw garlic and 2 pods of cademom as spices. After bringing the stock to a boil, you should turn the heat down to simmer and continue skimming fat and foams off until the broth is clear. Before putting bones and oxtail in, get water to a boiling point first. This should help make the broth clearer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Lots of flavors but I personally thought it was way too watery and needed alot more vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathrine Ferguson Jenkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Ulm, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This is a great, authentic recipe that I will make again and again. I only had about 1/2 oz. of star anise on hand but it still turned out great. I did find that for my taste the broth needed some additional fish sauce and salt added with the other condiments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
OMG crazy awesome! The whole family swarmed my kitchen for seconds, including my picky 9 yr old son but there was not enough broth. There's only 2 things I will change next time, triple the spices & double the broth so we can have more. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Rocksprings, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
WOW! Love it! I did use the cinnamon stick I bought from the Asian market. It was rather large (4-6 inches long, 1 inch in diameter) but it didn't overpower the broth like I expected. Also, I added 2 packs of meatballs because I love beef and meatball pho. Wonderful for such a cold, wet, and windy day. ***UPDATE*** The second time I made this, I added 3 sliced lemongrass and cooked for 10 hrs. It tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I used oxtails and skipped the radish. It was just like the restaurant version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Amazing recipe. I didn't change anything. My husband and I eat pho often and this was every bit as good as the restaurant. Highly recommend it worth the time it takes to make the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States