Beef Paprika Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
Any time I make this, I make it in the crockpot. It gives the meat so much tenderness, and I don't even brown the meat- I found that I can reduce the fat content by omitting the shortening. When I make this in the crockpot (to serve TWO people) , I use 3/4 cups water, 1/4 cup ketchup, 1 tsp brown sugar 3/4 tsp paprika 3/4 tsp worchestershire sauce 1/2 tsp salt 1/4 dijon mustard, 2 garlic cloves minced, dash of cayenne pepper. I mix the sauce together and pour over the beef stew meat and cook on high for about 6 hours. Sometimes I will take some of the leftover sauce, and will whisk in some flour to make a gravy, and will serve the meat and gravy on top of boiled egg noodles or spaetzle. This is a great dish for those nippy fall or winter evenings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
My family loved this. I liked it but thought the ketchup taste was undeniable, so when I make it again this week, I will use tomato sauce with a little honey or sugar. It was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by good cooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
The sauce was really rich, very tomatoey. I didn't use the brown sugar, which I probably should've since it would have added another dimension. I served with potato bake, but should have made rice, as it would have helped to have something bland to soak up the very rich sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
Sorry, this recipe was WAY TOO SWEET. Ketchup is sweet enough so there is really no need for the addition of brown sugar. Added some chili powder and lemon juice to try and cut through the sweetness but it didn't do a thing. I guess this just didn't appeal to my fiance and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I have 6 kids they all love it,meat turns out very tender,no matter what cut you use. For a great variation try it with pork roast,I did this by accident,but turns out wonderful. Always make extra so everyone gets seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This was yummy and my kids 3 and 8 loved it, which is rare. I also used olive oil instead of the shortening. I left out the mustard powder and most of the salt. I have this exact recipie in my Betty Crocker Recipie Card Library. I will make it again. I served over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This was a wonderful meal for my husband and myself. My kids thought it was to spicy but I will make it again just for adults. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
This was excellent! Replaced a lost recipe for one of my all-time favorite dishes from my childhood. I'd leave out the mustard powder next time because it's the only difference I could taste. But it was still delicious with it added. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
I received this recipe many years ago from a co worker I no longer can find. I was thrilled to find this! This is one of my favorite recipes with just a hint of spiciness. You have got to try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
This recipe is comfort food. It's nice to have a subtle dinner, that isn't bursting with flavor sometimes. My family loved it, I cooked it in my turbo cooker, and just used it as a conventional skillet, and the stew beef fell apart. Next time I will add a little more water to start with though, I like more gravy. Also a recipe I had similar to this had pieces of carrot in it so I have put in large pieces of carrots which adds a little more depth to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States