Beef Paprika Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I admit I made major changes to this recipe. First, the shortening had to go. I used about 2 TBS. olive oil, which was plenty. I nixed the ketchup too, and just used tomato paste with a little water. I only simmered a little over an hour, and it was perfectly tender. Served over spaetzle noodles, with peas on the side. Everyone enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I agree good recipe, nice flavor...but way too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
great recipe, I also cook it in the crockpot. But I cook everything in the crockpot, so I can go to work and come home for dinner..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
The first time i made this i didn't have paprika, so i added about 1/4 tsp of ground black pepper, and 1 1/2 tbsp of black pepper sauce. I left it to simmer, and the heat must have been too high so the sauce dried up a bit and the onions caramelized... I thought I burned the dish but I managed to rescue it with 1/4 cup of water, and it turned out really delicious - because the onions had caramelized the sauce had turned almost into a puree and looks very similar to the photo posted. The second time I cooked it, I used paprika (and added 1/2 tbsp of black pepper sauce which i love), and turned out wonderful! SERVING SUGGESTION: I serve this over a plate of pasta, topped with egg (sunny side up). Yummmy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplegold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I followed some others advice and made this in the crock pot...made it a lot easier! (omitteed the shortening) It tasted good (even the kids liked it), but it might be tastier with potatoes in the mix...maybe some carrots too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I made this years ago when I was in Holland; I ran out of the ketchup one day (at about 1/2 cup) so went to the local Spar market to get more - all they had was Curryketchup, so I used it as the remaining 1/4 cup - it came out great! When I returned to the States, Curryketchup wasn't readily available, so I added about 1/2 tsp curry powder to it (that's a "guesstimate")- still good! Also added mushrooms. My daughter was asking about this recipe a couple days ago, and I couldn't find it...until now! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
We have been looking for a flavorful beef stew recipe and this is IT. I substituted substitute 1T grey poupon mustard for the mustard seed, and added 1/2C red wine. I added 1/2C diced celery and about a cup of baby carrots. I also cooked the beef in the crock pot instead of on the stove. I'll probably reduce the ketchup and sugar next time, but we loved the sweet taste of this stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
oh my!! this is ubber delicious.. my husband paired this with rice while mine i poured over spaghetti noodles. Mmmmm.. will definitely make this again.Ü
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This was tasty comfort food, but I'm just not sure I'd bother making it again, as the time is somewhat extensive. I think I'll stick to shredded BBQ beef in the crockpot, it's less involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by roxanapeace
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This was alright. Boyfriend said he liked it but never touched the leftovers. I didn't think it was bad, but didn't really care for it either. Looked pretty bad, tasted okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxanapeace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baker, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States