Beef Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
I found it to be in need of some help. First the recipe was too salty. I added a clove of minced garlic, substituted the water with beef broth, plus one teaspoon beef base, one can mushrooms, one teaspoon Herb de Provence, 1/4 cup Marsala wine, and used dry egg noodles. I cooked the beef in the broth for 2 hours on simmer, after browning. I then finished the recipe. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polyhistor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
OK, I added based on others reviews. It was a solid weeknight meal, great soup, and good leftover for lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Briese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrey Vensky
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Good as a base recipe, but definitely needs more flavor. Added minced garlic, bay leaf and peppercorns, but it's still lacking something. Perhaps a bigger variety of sauteed veggies? Will play with it again, modifying as I go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrey Vensky

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Gotta love beef noodle soup but there is no need to use pre-cooked or frozen noodles, nor is there a need to add them until the soup is finished simmering. At that point remove the pot from heat, add dry noodles, cover and let stand ten minutes. Noodles will be done but not mushy. Simmer noodles for 30 minutes and you are guaranteed mushy noodles whether they were cooked ahead of time or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Hoffman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I rated this soup on the ingredients as written, and we liked it very much. A very easy and quick soup to prepare. I don't see how some of these viewers can give a recipe a rating when they change the ingredients (they're rating their own recipe). Just saying....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Totally agreed with Linda McLean’s changes, with one minor comment. Instead of pasta, this recipe screams for potatoes instead of pasta. Will definitely be making again, but will add spuds to cook in the soup instead of noodles. As an aside, I gave some of the soup, sans any carbohydrate, to a friend, who added some leftover cheese tortelini. She loved it and has asked for the recipe. Thanks for sharing, Brenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This is a GREAT base recipe! I loved the simplicity..I wanted just regular old beef soup like my dad used to make that didnt have a ton of veggies in it Im not a fan of tomato based vegetable soup! I increased spices and celery and added a cubed potato! Loved it!! You really cant go wrong with this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
My kiddos loved this!! I used dried medium egg noodles instead of frozen; I just put them in about 10 minutes before it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This recipe was pretty good. I added a few tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce and was perfect. Definetly will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Plate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This was fantastic. I used 3 cans of beef broth and 1 can of water and cooked it in my crock pot on high for 4 hours. Hubby said it was a little salty, I didn't have that experience. I adjusted this recipe to accommodate 4 people. The next day it was even better....Kind of like beef tips and noodles. Will definitely make this again. One of my new all time favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States