Beef Noodle Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Great Comfort Food! I followed several rater suggestions: added slice onion, garlic powder and worchester sauce. Cooked the noodles til al dente. When assembling, added cheese between the beef mixture and mashed potatoes (6 cups covered 9x13). Got raves reviews! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This was so delicious and easy! Grilled onions and cheese on top makes it even more delicious! I used a 9X9 pan so there was volume to the dish & made it with mashed potatos not out of the box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TrentsMommy
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This Dish was excellent. My husband finished 2 huge plates of it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrentsMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I enjoyed this recipe, as did my 13 yr old son. I did tweak it a little, and added corn and cheese like several others. But I mostly wrote to say that both the previous comments are incorrect. In England, Shepherd's pie is traditionally made with lamb... hence "Shepherd". When the same recipe is made with beef, it is traditioanlly called Cottage Pie. Whatever you call it, it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Great dish especially if you're hungry. 14 yr old son gave it a 4*. Sauteed onion with the beef. Couldn't find beef-onion soup mix so I combined onion soup mix with beef boullion powder. Added canned (x2) mushrooms to the mix in the skillet. Used powdered mash on top. Cheap, filling, flavorful meal. Note: left-overs had much more flavor, taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I made the recipe exactly as it was and it was good. The noodles were cooked perfectly -- they were actually soft so I cannot imagine cooking them first. My family liked it -- it was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I rated this a 4 only because I changed/added some things for a better flavor. Very tasty - a nice twist on the old version. I used 1/2 beef broth and 1/2 water and I cooked the macaroni with the hamb and broth for 10 minutes. At 5 minutes the macaroni was still hard. I added corn to the hamb mixture and I sprinkled some Colby/Jack cheese on top of the mashers. Without the beef broth and cheese it would have been a little bland for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This is yummy comfort food, but I'm giving it three stars because I had to make some changes. After reading the reviews, here's what I did: used 1 1/2 pounds of beef, boiled the noodles separately for 8 minutes (to al dente), added 1 can of cream of mushroom and 1 cup of frozen mixed vegetables to the beef, noodle, onion soup mix, and I topped it with 10 servings of instant mashed potatoes and shredded colby jack cheese. Without the cream of mushroom soup, I think it would be good served with beef gravy. Like I said, this is yummy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I also added corn, green beans and carrots to this mixture, and as I couldn't find beef onion soup, I used beef gravy along with other seasonings to flavor and thicken this. As for the Shepherd's Pie name comment, whenever made with beef, I’ve always heard it referred to as Cowboy Pie. I think that if you were in England, Shepherd would be lamb only, but in US beef is commonly used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knob Noster, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This is a quick meal to make and it was very tasty. Well, it was either noodles or the mashed potatoe because that's just too much starch for my family so I went with intant potatoes. Also used 1 1/2 lbs. of ground beef. Added green beans to the mix and used the instant onion soup mix but added some low sodium beef broth as it was turning a little dry. Also, I used a large cast iron skillet to simmer everything and after topping with the potatoes I just popped the iron skillet into the oven to bake. Next time I will add some shredded cheddar to top the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgie04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States