Beef Nacho Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
DELICIOUS! I did make a quite a few changes though. First, I sauteed some onion in with my ground beef. I used Mexicorn, and instead of the Miracle Whip, I used just over 1/2 cup of fat free sour cream instead. I also used a packet of taco seasoning rather than the chili powder. In my pantry, there were some refried black beans I wanted to get rid of, and I figured this would be a good way to do that. Boy, was I right! I layered it on top of the beef mixture in my 9x13. For the crushed chips, I used Fritos rather than tortilla chips, and last but not least, I used 2 cups of Mexican cheeses rather than just Colby. In essence, I guess I changed almost everything about the recipe. LOL! But it was DELICOIUS! Ally
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
739 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I have been looking for this recipe. My mom used to make it when I was young. But she passed away, and never had any of her recipes written down. Suggestion: The recipes your family loves please write them down so if one day something happens they will be able to re-create your delicious food, and have pleasant memories when eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
407 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Um, HELLO!!! Of course this isn't real "Nachos"! It says CASSEROLE in the title....honestly, this is pretty good, but do sub. sour cream for the Miracle Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I tried this recipe but made a few alterations. First, I substituted ground beef with ground turkey. Always a healthier choice. Then I replaced chili powder with 2 tbsp. of taco seasoning. I also reduced the salsa to 1 cup & added 1 can of black beans in with the corn. Instead of 3/4 mayo I used 1/2 cup of sour cream & 1 heaping tbsp. of mayo. Once complete, this was really easy to make and so good! I totally loved it! My husband said it tasted like Nachos Grande. It's also is a good recipe if you have broken up pieces of nacho chips left at the end of a bag. I found the smaller more crumbled up pieces filled it in great. Thanks for the new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janalynn505

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I used Rotel instead of salsa and did not add corn. I seasoned the beef with taco seasoning and cooked a chopped onion and garlic to the meat while browning it. I also used half sour cream and half mayo. Very easy to make and the bf loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROMMICHIGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I really wish people would review recipes AS THEY ARE WRITTEN. If I see you put as the first word DELICIOUS I assume the recipe is really good. But then I go through it and everything about the recipe has been changed...use some common sense people. Review the recipe as it is and then maybe state what you did differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
great taste, and the miracle whip gave it even more zip! loved the peppers, onions, etc that were in it from the chunky salsa. easy recipe and i will definitely be making this again. i do have to say that next time i will cover it will aluminum foil because the cheese on top became hard and crusty. thanks! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Loved it. After reading all of the other reviews, I made some changes - I added onion to my ground chuck, used 1/2 cup Miracle Whip and 1/4 cup sour cream, 2 tsp. chili powder and 2 tsp. of Tastefully Simple's "Fiesta Party Dip" mix (it was what I had on hand!) and Nacho Cheese Doritos instead of plain tortilla chips. The whole family loved it, it was quick and easy and will certainly be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This is a casserole but it is definitely not nachos. Miracle Whip has no place in Nachos, and neither does corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I made this with sour cream and miracle whip, also added onion to the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States