Beef Nacho Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Made this recipe last night. There is none left. He ate this like he was starving and then asked for more. He had another heaping plate for dinner. He asked me when I was going to make it again. I liked this very much. Was thrilled with it, except the fact that it didn't serve very nicely, and did sort of resemble a bowl of dog food (as other reviewers also pointed out. I expected it to look like your photo, which was very appealing. It did not. But it tasted incredible, so I am willing to forgive. A lot. I am so thrilled to be moving beyond the sphaghetti/meatloaf/lasagna rotation. As one other reviewer suggested, I did layer the casserole, but only put cheese on the top and not between the layers. Cover your casserole before baking (we tented with foil). I read several reviews before making this recipe. I made the following changes/additions: I used 2 lbs of ground beef (package it came in). I used sour cream instead of salad dressing, ~ 1 c. (had to use it). I used one packet of taco seasoning (to which I added ~ 1/2 tsp each: smoked paprika, garlic powder, cayenne and oregano). I added one finely chopped chipotle pepper with about 1/2 tbs. adobo sauce that it was packed in. I added the following vegetables: one can of mushrooms, 1 finely chopped red pepper, 2 med. finely chopped onions and one grated carrot. I added ~3/4 cup of chili sauce I cooked all of these ingredients with the beef before baking. Will make repeatedly. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHLEY40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is delicious!! My husband and son loved it. I did substitute sour cream in place of mircle whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was a sure hit at home,,,, everyone had seconds. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Holy moly this was good! I browned the meat with some diced onions. Instead of chili powder I used a packet of taco seasoning. I also substituted 1/2 cup of sour cream for the "creamy dressing." I added some sliced black olives, since I had an opened can. This recipe is very versile. You can add kidney or black beans. I served this with sliced avocado. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
My husband and I enjoyed this. Only thing I did different was use mexican cheese blend instead of colby. I used Tostito brand Artisan 4 Cheese Queso tortilla chips which I think added some flavor. Hubby had seconds and that is always a good sign. I enjoyed the miracle whip in this recipe. I don't like sour cream in my mexican food so this is a great recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I agree with another review. This is ridiculous that people rate recipes according to how they completely modify it from the original. Please follow the original recipe first and then make suggestions!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Delicious! I made some of the changes recommended ie taco sauce, sour cream and I also added jalapeno pepper pieces on each layer. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julianne Waters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
very good basic mexican casserole. After reading reviews, I also added a can of refried beans, and only used sour cream, NO mayo! Added a tsp of ground cumin, since we love that flavor. Used combination of fritos and crushed tortilla chips, as that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This is really good! It definitely needs to bake for longer than 20 minutes because it was still a little on the cold side when we ate it. But the taste was great! Not too spicy and my two year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Made this again tonight and added Pinto beans, I think it will be good! I know this recipes is easy and awesome already! As for it being nacho's I think its called that cause there are nacho chips in it! I never expected it to taste like that but it is good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo_Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nipawin, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Lloydminster, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 552) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States