Beef Nacho Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This was a hit at my house, but I made some changed. I swapped sour cream for Miracle Whip since that didn't seem to fit in the recipe. My son doesn't like corn so I left that out and made it as a side veggie. I did add a bit of onion to the ground beef and used a medium chunky salsa. Also, I didn't crunch the nacho chips, I used tortilla strips and left them in big pieces so they didn't get as mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Great recipe, followed to a tee... and was gone that same night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Good flavor & very easy. I used 15oz. ground beef, 1/2c. sour cream, 1T miracle whip, 15.5 oz. can of corn & mexican cheese. The rest of the recipe I followed like stated. next time try a small can of mexi-corn and some black beans. Also try taco flavored chips. I crunched the chips in my hand (not finely). Next time keep the chips crunched to a 1/2 dollar size. Black olives on top would be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I'm giving it four stars as it wasn't my favorite but the rest of my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was delicious! Dale flipped over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This recipe is a good starter recipe. I made this and took the advice of reviewers and subbed sour cream with a heaping tablespoon of mayo, that way it worked for my family. It wasn't bad. The next day however the flavors settled and it was a great dish! I also added refried beans on top which I think helped the dish out a lot. I will be making this again with my added changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinesha J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Made this recipe last night. There is none left. He ate this like he was starving and then asked for more. He had another heaping plate for dinner. He asked me when I was going to make it again. I liked this very much. Was thrilled with it, except the fact that it didn't serve very nicely, and did sort of resemble a bowl of dog food (as other reviewers also pointed out. I expected it to look like your photo, which was very appealing. It did not. But it tasted incredible, so I am willing to forgive. A lot. I am so thrilled to be moving beyond the sphaghetti/meatloaf/lasagna rotation. As one other reviewer suggested, I did layer the casserole, but only put cheese on the top and not between the layers. Cover your casserole before baking (we tented with foil). I read several reviews before making this recipe. I made the following changes/additions: I used 2 lbs of ground beef (package it came in). I used sour cream instead of salad dressing, ~ 1 c. (had to use it). I used one packet of taco seasoning (to which I added ~ 1/2 tsp each: smoked paprika, garlic powder, cayenne and oregano). I added one finely chopped chipotle pepper with about 1/2 tbs. adobo sauce that it was packed in. I added the following vegetables: one can of mushrooms, 1 finely chopped red pepper, 2 med. finely chopped onions and one grated carrot. I added ~3/4 cup of chili sauce I cooked all of these ingredients with the beef before baking. Will make repeatedly. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHLEY40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is delicious!! My husband and son loved it. I did substitute sour cream in place of mircle whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was a sure hit at home,,,, everyone had seconds. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Holy moly this was good! I browned the meat with some diced onions. Instead of chili powder I used a packet of taco seasoning. I also substituted 1/2 cup of sour cream for the "creamy dressing." I added some sliced black olives, since I had an opened can. This recipe is very versile. You can add kidney or black beans. I served this with sliced avocado. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States