Beef Nacho Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I use sour cream instead of mayo and also a taco mix shredded cheese, Tastes great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I don't think I'd make this as written, but it's a good base recipe. I could only give it 3 stars because I made a lot of changes,which were excellent. I filled a 9x13 pan with layers, baking at 350 for the same amount of time directed. First, I used approx. 2.5 lbs hamburger (that was the size it came in), cooked with a lg chopped onion, 2 pkts taco seasoning, water, salt, pepper, dried diced garlic, and cayenne pepper. To that, I added (still on heat) 2 cans drained corn, 2 cans black beans (not drained), 1 can diced green chiles (not drained), and approx. 1.5 cups each of medium and mild chunky salsas. Since the pan's contents already had created a nice sauce, I added 1 c. plain Greek yogurt (unnecessary)(I wanted to save my sour cream for serving on top). I didn't want to use Miracle Whip, which sounded greasy and gross. I took the opportunity to use up 3 bags worth of tortilla chip crumbs (you know, the little pieces toward the end of the bag that are too little to dip) that I had been saving for an occasion like this. I layered twice as directed (meat mixture, chips, cheese), using about 6 cups of various shredded cheeses (sharp cheddar, taco blend, pizza blend, etc.)(wanted to use up a few opened packages). All of this filled my 9x13 pan. I served it cut into large squares with a large dollop of sour cream and some salsa. My teenage son and my parents raved over it, looking forward to any leftovers. I must say, it was absolutely delicious. I'll make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I used ground turkey. I added a layer of refrield beans & used colby & Mexican Chihuahua cheese. I had seconds however, my husband thought it was ok but my 12 yr. old did not care for it at all. I was dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
The only change I made was added a layer of refried beans. My 3 year old practically licked her plate! Will be making again, with the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
My husband and I both liked this one. Easy and quick to prepare on a weeknight. I followed some comments and used less mayo, otherwise I followed the recipe, as I like to do at least the first time. May try adding pinto beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunray, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
The mix was good, but baking the chips made them seem like they were really stale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and my family wasn't crazy about this. They ate it, but said they would rather me not make it again. I thought it was ok - not good or bad, therefore the 3 rating. The taste was somewhat bland and it was a little dry. We added salsa and sour cream to make it somewhat better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I'm rating this recipe as it is written. We are not fans of Miracle Whip. I didn't follow all the ingredients so I give it 3 stars. But as I prepared it, I give it 5 stars all the way!!!! This was so delicious. My family LOVED it. Especially one of my picky eaters. Even the other picky eater tried it, and that was a huge step for him. But I made some adjustments to fit our palates. I didn't use corn, Miracle whip, or chili powder. Instead, I used lean ground turkey, 1/2 chunky salsa and 1/2 mild taco sauce to my liking (not sure of the measurements, but I didn't want it runny). I used about 2 heaping Tbsp of fat free sour cream and 2 heaping Tbsp of plain greek yogurt. I used 1 packet of Taco Bell taco seasoning, and Mild cheddar and Monterey Jack shredded cheese. When I layered it, I started with the crushed chips, meat sauce, cheese. Then chips again, meat sauce, a few finely crushed chips, then cheese and topped it off with some sliced black olives. This will definitely be our new "Taco Tuesday" dish. YUMM-O!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Very easy and quick. I added a packet of taco seasonings and followed the rest exact. Very good would also make with chicken to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Overall concept was good. However, next time I'd make it with much less mayo or none at all. Would probably add a little more heat/spice to it, too. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States