Beef Nacho Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I had problems with this one. Added onions with ground beef. Drained that and added the salsa, Miracle Whip/sour cream, corn, and spices and... it was downright soupy. I finally had to thicken the mixture with flour before layering it. Nobody else had this problem? Maybe the salsa was too watery. I'm gonna do this with taco seasoning next time -- the chili powder wasn't enough. Mixing chili powder with the cheese was good, though. My fella REALLY liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Like others, for the creamy salad dressing I used light sour cream with a little light mayo. The casserole held together pretty well. My husband complained it was a little bland so I added cayanne pepper to 1/2 of it the second time I made it. He was happy and the kids were happy with their less spicy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMYIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was really, really good. Even my Dad who hates trying new things liked it. Used 2 % milk mexican blend cheese and light sour cream instead of Miracle Whip. I only hade 3/4 lb. of beef so I added 1/2 can of black beans and used frozen corn ( cooked first) because I did not have canned. Used taco seasoning mix instead of chili powder. We put extra light sour cream on the finished dish with shredded lettuce on top. The next day it was even better with Light Hidden Valley Ranch dressing on top!! Thanks for the recipe Lunch lady.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was excellent, my whole family loved it. My only change was 1 cup each of Colby and Monterey Jack cheese instead of 2 cups of Colby. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
LOVED IT!!! I used another users recommendations. I used fat free sour cream instead of miracle whip, a taco seasoning packet instead of chili powder. Definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcisnero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
i guess nachos are not my cup of tea! didn't really like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I really wish people would review recipes AS THEY ARE WRITTEN. If I see you put as the first word DELICIOUS I assume the recipe is really good. But then I go through it and everything about the recipe has been changed...use some common sense people. Review the recipe as it is and then maybe state what you did differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I use sour cream instead of mayo and also a taco mix shredded cheese, Tastes great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I don't think I'd make this as written, but it's a good base recipe. I could only give it 3 stars because I made a lot of changes,which were excellent. I filled a 9x13 pan with layers, baking at 350 for the same amount of time directed. First, I used approx. 2.5 lbs hamburger (that was the size it came in), cooked with a lg chopped onion, 2 pkts taco seasoning, water, salt, pepper, dried diced garlic, and cayenne pepper. To that, I added (still on heat) 2 cans drained corn, 2 cans black beans (not drained), 1 can diced green chiles (not drained), and approx. 1.5 cups each of medium and mild chunky salsas. Since the pan's contents already had created a nice sauce, I added 1 c. plain Greek yogurt (unnecessary)(I wanted to save my sour cream for serving on top). I didn't want to use Miracle Whip, which sounded greasy and gross. I took the opportunity to use up 3 bags worth of tortilla chip crumbs (you know, the little pieces toward the end of the bag that are too little to dip) that I had been saving for an occasion like this. I layered twice as directed (meat mixture, chips, cheese), using about 6 cups of various shredded cheeses (sharp cheddar, taco blend, pizza blend, etc.)(wanted to use up a few opened packages). All of this filled my 9x13 pan. I served it cut into large squares with a large dollop of sour cream and some salsa. My teenage son and my parents raved over it, looking forward to any leftovers. I must say, it was absolutely delicious. I'll make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I used ground turkey. I added a layer of refrield beans & used colby & Mexican Chihuahua cheese. I had seconds however, my husband thought it was ok but my 12 yr. old did not care for it at all. I was dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States