Beef, Mushroom and Guinness® Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I am in love with this pie! Itakes a while to make but it is fun and SO good! it is the perfect winter dish. super filling and warms you from head to toe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Kendziora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
None of us really cared for this one. I guess I'm not a guinness fan. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I used the filling and cooked it to its full length. Don't cut down on the time simmered and baked, because as the water evaporates the flavor only becomes more robust. Modifications I made: - Mash Potatoes in place of crust. More like a Shepherd's Pie. It's also cheaper. About 3lbs of yellow potatoes, boiled then mashed. 4 Tbshp of unsalted butter, 1/2 cup of heavy whipping cream. Salt and Pepper to taste. (I don't use a blender for potatoes because it changes the dynamic of the mash) Chunks are good. -Doubled the recipe because I had a feeling this would be a hit and for all the time you put in it, you might as well have plenty of leftovers. - 2lbs of chuckeye with all the fat removed which probably made it about 1 1/2lbs of meat. - Used one white onion, then 2 shallots. - added about a 1lb of fresh cut up green beans. - Baby Portabella Mushrooms in place of crimini and I added a little more than what it called for. - Didn't add the sugar - subbed bay leaf for sage. - I also think you could add caraway seed or fennel seed, but didn't want to mess more than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdbenson13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ccmnej
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Fantastic flavor! Took all day to make, but worth every minute. I used a double pie crust instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccmnej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Very good and flavourful, however, I don't think you need the last half hour of cooking. The vegetables (I added peas) in my filling turned mushy. Also I used half the puff pastry as a base crust, and that shrank when I baked it on its own. BUT I will definitely try it again, the ale gave it a fantastic flavour and normally I hate beer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
delicious, but the guinness flavor really develops as it sits - so the flavor is a lot stronger if you eat it as leftovers the next day. i made it with ruth's grandma's pie crust from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I loved the taste of this dish. I skipped the long stove-top cooking and instead put the mixture in the crock pot after thickening the first time. I cooked it on high for about an hour then turned it to low for another hour and a half. I then put the mixture in the fridge util I wanted to make the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
As other people have mentioned, as well as making this as a pie i often just eat it as a stew or casserole- it works brilliantly both ways! It does take a while to cook i guess, but the rich flavour you get at the end of it is so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I made this for St. Patty's Day. My husband and I thought it was excellent. It certainly takes awhile to cook, but the filling is delicious. I used Guinness Extra Stout and was afraid it might make it a bit bitter, but the result was fantastic. Extras are already packed up for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I made the recipe without changes. I thought the stout was too bitter in the pie. In the future, I would use maybe 1/2 cup vs. 1 cup. Also, I think this would be better as a stew without the puff pastry on top. Overall, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States