Beef, Mushroom and Guinness® Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by pinklady
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Over the weekend I happened to come across a dish like this in an Irish pub and come Monday I was bound and determined to find the recipe. Well, if this isn't it it's pretty close! I made the recipe exactly as is only making the pie in individual ramekins. Despite having to eat dinner at nearly ten thirty at night, I absolutely loved this, and after travelling to four different liquor stores looking for individually sold Guinness, I am sure glad I ended up having to buy a four pack because I cannot wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinklady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is excellent! The only change I made in the recipe is to add in another carrot and next time I'll add a third. Even though this takes "time" it doesn't need constant attention. Once it's in the pot on the stove, you really can walk away and let it cook with a stir in the middle. From there, into the pie plate, top with the puff pastry and into the oven. We had our salad course while this was on its last ten minutes in the oven. We let it rest about 5-10 minutes before cutting into it. It was still piping hot. The flavors in this are wonderful and complex, far more interesting and satisfying than a traditional 'beef stew' recipe provides. My guests were able to pick out the bacon flavor and also identified the Guiness accurately. I served this with a simple salad course, savory scones, and steamed white asparagus along side. Definitely worth your time and good enough for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Delicious! Used left over prime rib, so simmered the veggies until soft. & Made homemade crust. I will use this recipe again! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This recipe is just fantastic, the perfect traditional Steak and Ale Pie. I pretty much followed the recipe as written. I did triple all ingredients to make 2 x 9.5" Deep Pies. I also added 1/2 cup of frozen pies to the vegetables. I cooked for the amount of time stated which produced a nice thick stew. I always brushed the top of the pastry with milk rather than the egg the recipe called for. This recipe really is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Perfect in every way. I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Excellent recipe! I used homemade pate brise for a crust, worked great. I also experimented with Gruyere and Havarti cheeses. I put a layer (about 1/4in thick slices) of cheese in the bottom of each pie shell before I put the filling in and baked.(Havarti in one pie and Gruyere in the other) A-Mazing. my guests couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dls458

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Yummy!!!! like the others said... " worth the wait"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal608

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Wow this was outstanding! I made a few changes to the recipe... I left out the mushrooms and added celery and also used Shiner Bock beer instead of the Guinness since that is what I had on hand!! I also doubled the puff pastry making an extra layer ... Even thought this takes a while to make it was definely worth it!! This will become a staple meal in my house!!! Everyone went back for seconds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This is a great dish. It takes some time to make and disappears really fast. I have made it twice in two days and my only gripe is my crust not looking as good as the picture. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I'll Eat It!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I made this last evening and my husband and I thought it was delicious. I actually used red wine instead of Guiness because I did not have any in the house. It made a good substitute. Other than that I followed the recipe to the letter. I made my own puff pastry which was more labor intensive, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States