Beef, Mushroom and Guinness® Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Perfect in every way. I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Excellent recipe! I used homemade pate brise for a crust, worked great. I also experimented with Gruyere and Havarti cheeses. I put a layer (about 1/4in thick slices) of cheese in the bottom of each pie shell before I put the filling in and baked.(Havarti in one pie and Gruyere in the other) A-Mazing. my guests couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dls458

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Yummy!!!! like the others said... " worth the wait"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal608

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Wow this was outstanding! I made a few changes to the recipe... I left out the mushrooms and added celery and also used Shiner Bock beer instead of the Guinness since that is what I had on hand!! I also doubled the puff pastry making an extra layer ... Even thought this takes a while to make it was definely worth it!! This will become a staple meal in my house!!! Everyone went back for seconds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This is a great dish. It takes some time to make and disappears really fast. I have made it twice in two days and my only gripe is my crust not looking as good as the picture. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I'll Eat It!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I made this last evening and my husband and I thought it was delicious. I actually used red wine instead of Guiness because I did not have any in the house. It made a good substitute. Other than that I followed the recipe to the letter. I made my own puff pastry which was more labor intensive, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I am in love with this pie! Itakes a while to make but it is fun and SO good! it is the perfect winter dish. super filling and warms you from head to toe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Kendziora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
None of us really cared for this one. I guess I'm not a guinness fan. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I used the filling and cooked it to its full length. Don't cut down on the time simmered and baked, because as the water evaporates the flavor only becomes more robust. Modifications I made: - Mash Potatoes in place of crust. More like a Shepherd's Pie. It's also cheaper. About 3lbs of yellow potatoes, boiled then mashed. 4 Tbshp of unsalted butter, 1/2 cup of heavy whipping cream. Salt and Pepper to taste. (I don't use a blender for potatoes because it changes the dynamic of the mash) Chunks are good. -Doubled the recipe because I had a feeling this would be a hit and for all the time you put in it, you might as well have plenty of leftovers. - 2lbs of chuckeye with all the fat removed which probably made it about 1 1/2lbs of meat. - Used one white onion, then 2 shallots. - added about a 1lb of fresh cut up green beans. - Baby Portabella Mushrooms in place of crimini and I added a little more than what it called for. - Didn't add the sugar - subbed bay leaf for sage. - I also think you could add caraway seed or fennel seed, but didn't want to mess more than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdbenson13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ccmnej
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Fantastic flavor! Took all day to make, but worth every minute. I used a double pie crust instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccmnej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Firehouse Beef Stew & Shepherd's Pie

Watch a firehouse cook prepare beef stew and shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States