Beef, Mushroom and Guinness® Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ccmnej
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Fantastic flavor! Took all day to make, but worth every minute. I used a double pie crust instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccmnej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Very good and flavourful, however, I don't think you need the last half hour of cooking. The vegetables (I added peas) in my filling turned mushy. Also I used half the puff pastry as a base crust, and that shrank when I baked it on its own. BUT I will definitely try it again, the ale gave it a fantastic flavour and normally I hate beer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
delicious, but the guinness flavor really develops as it sits - so the flavor is a lot stronger if you eat it as leftovers the next day. i made it with ruth's grandma's pie crust from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I loved the taste of this dish. I skipped the long stove-top cooking and instead put the mixture in the crock pot after thickening the first time. I cooked it on high for about an hour then turned it to low for another hour and a half. I then put the mixture in the fridge util I wanted to make the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
As other people have mentioned, as well as making this as a pie i often just eat it as a stew or casserole- it works brilliantly both ways! It does take a while to cook i guess, but the rich flavour you get at the end of it is so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I made this for St. Patty's Day. My husband and I thought it was excellent. It certainly takes awhile to cook, but the filling is delicious. I used Guinness Extra Stout and was afraid it might make it a bit bitter, but the result was fantastic. Extras are already packed up for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I made the recipe without changes. I thought the stout was too bitter in the pie. In the future, I would use maybe 1/2 cup vs. 1 cup. Also, I think this would be better as a stew without the puff pastry on top. Overall, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Since I didn't feel like making pie crust, I made this as a stew instead (added potatoes). Wonderful! It was gobbled up by my guests before I could get another bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bframe
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This pie was amazing! It isn't a quick meal however the end product is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States