Beef Mushroom Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
did a bit of subbing 1 can of sliced mushrooms & frozen chantrells hand picked and frozen. Used left over prime rib and Au jus to replace the beef broth. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by northwest grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snead, Alabama, USA
Living In: Raymond, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This is a classic Stroganoff recipe. Can't believe people are complaining that RED wine made the dish purple... use a white wine if you don't like the color. There really isn't much to change about this recipe, maybe more onions. It is what it is, Beef Stroganoff and the recipe doesn't stray from that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I absolutely LOVE this recipe! I used Beef Tenderloin, olive oil in place of vegetable oil, Marsala cooking wine, increased the onion to 1/4 cup and the garlic to 1 Tbsp (I love onion and garlic), added some salt and pepper. It is the best Beef Stroganoff recipe I've ever used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Gregg
Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Haslet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I found this recipe absolutely wonderful! I've cooked for many years at a restaurant. The only thing I can say about the purple thing. Is what purple thing??. I'm betting they either bought red wine vinegar instead of dry red cooking wine or they didn't boil the mixture of wine and broth long enough. A patron said this was heavenly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I used stew meat in this recipe as it was cheaper. I upped the onion and garlic (whole large chopped onion, several cloves of minced garlic) and because I had Campbell's Beef Broth, which is double strength, I used just one 10.5 oz. can. Because I had stew meat, after the broth and wine had been added to the skillet, I brought it up to a boil and then covered it almost totally (I wanted it to be able to vent, so the sauce could reduce) and let it simmer for a little over an hour. I then added the sour cream. This turned out really well but we all thought it had a little too much wine. The color really was off-putting and the wine flavor was really prounounced over everything else. I think this would be just right with half the amount of wine and a little more spice. Maybe some oregano and basil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written. I think I know what is the problem with this recipe (other than it is purple). The prominent flavor is not beef. The beef flavor is lacking. Add that to the less then appealing color, and it just doesn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This recipe was good; I subbed ground beef because that was what I had on hand, and decided not to use red wine but rather cream sherry, after reading reviews. I also decided to put the sauce together a little differently, making a roux first and adding the sour cream at the end as I am used to doing with stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DECAFinNW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
i didnt not like it when i made like it said to no good for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
We love Stroganoff and this is my favorite recipe. The red wine really makes it. It also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This picture is misleading. I followed the recipe exactly and it was PURPLE because of the 1/2 cup red wine. It tasted totally fruity and the off color
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States