Beef Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
My husband loved this, my kids are mushroom haters (sigh) so had sandwiches for dinner - their loss. I made this using Better Than Bouillon and olive oil. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I quiet enjoyed this but I did add a few things. I added some bay leaves and thyme. Salt and pepper. It required 2700ml beef broth and I am sure more could have been added as it was still very thick. It only took 2.5hours to simmer instead of 3. Overall very good and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This was a huge hit. I added Worcestershire sauce, garlic, thyme, balsamic vinegar, bay leaf, and oregano. The barley I cooked separately (substituting stock for water), and added for the last hour of cooking. We do not like ours thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
After reading other reviews I added the quick cooking barley with the mushrooms, a half cup of dry red wine, one tablespoon Worcester. It was a great stoop will make again. Wonderful meal on a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I used high quality ribeye beef and added a can of tomatoes to amp this recipe up. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This was my first time really making any soup. The recipe makes a lot. It easily fed 3 adults...twice. :-). It probably would serve 12. It doesn't take 3 hrs. I started the pearled barley while I prepped and cooked the beef and vegetables. I chose to also add 4 cloves of garlic and used a mix of baby Bellas and porcini mushrooms. By the time I had mixed everything in the pot, the barley was ready to add. All in all it took about an hour and 15 minutes. Great soup. Added salt and black pepper along with onion powder. Go by your taste. It actually was much better with grated Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I basically followed the recipe regarding the ingredients. I had some leftover bacon from breakfast, so I threw that in along with garlic. (major garlic-lovers) I rarely measure anything and this was no exception... but I think I came pretty close! Just delicious! What a great basic recipe that you can add to or NOT! Thank you for this easy satisfying recipe Wendellian. Whats really exciting to me is that I'll remember it without having to look it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Very tasty! I used 8 cups of homemade beef broth and added a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce, per other's suggestions. I used pre cooked roast beef and that saved about 2 hours off the cooking time. It cooked up just the way my husband and I like our soups, on the thicker side. It was still "soupy" because I used the extra cup of broth and kept the lid on while simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naches, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This was really good and easy! My few notes: * I used beef bouillon and not stock and it was fine, and I didn't feel it needed any added salt. * I used about 1.25 lbs of stew meat, and it still had meat in every bite. * Added a dash of Worcestershire sauce as others have recommended. * Added frozen peas. Next time I think I will add more veggies because I like a lot of veggies in my soups. * Only used 3/4 cup of barley, added when soup was boiling, and did cook the full 3 hours. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States