Beef Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Great recipe; instead of using mushrooms which I don't like in soup, I added tomatoes. I also cooked the barley separately before adding so the soup would not be so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Easy, delicious, I used 12 cups beef broth for a more "soupy" feel. Spiced it up with salt, pepper, splash of tabasco, splash of worcester sauce, garlic powder and some dried thyme. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This was an amazing recipe and so easy to make. I had to adapt the recipe to what I had in the kitchen so I used a 1.5lb hanger steak and an ox tail instead of the 2lbs of stew meat. I also used a tbsp of lard instead of the vegetable oil. Delish! Definitely a new family staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
We loved this... even my Mom. My husband doesn't like celery, so I added more carrot. It did turn out like a stew, which we like a lot. Definitely will be making this over & over. I belong to SparkPeople to track nutrition & put the recipe in there. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
My husband loved this, my kids are mushroom haters (sigh) so had sandwiches for dinner - their loss. I made this using Better Than Bouillon and olive oil. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I quiet enjoyed this but I did add a few things. I added some bay leaves and thyme. Salt and pepper. It required 2700ml beef broth and I am sure more could have been added as it was still very thick. It only took 2.5hours to simmer instead of 3. Overall very good and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This was a huge hit. I added Worcestershire sauce, garlic, thyme, balsamic vinegar, bay leaf, and oregano. The barley I cooked separately (substituting stock for water), and added for the last hour of cooking. We do not like ours thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
After reading other reviews I added the quick cooking barley with the mushrooms, a half cup of dry red wine, one tablespoon Worcester. It was a great stoop will make again. Wonderful meal on a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I used high quality ribeye beef and added a can of tomatoes to amp this recipe up. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This was my first time really making any soup. The recipe makes a lot. It easily fed 3 adults...twice. :-). It probably would serve 12. It doesn't take 3 hrs. I started the pearled barley while I prepped and cooked the beef and vegetables. I chose to also add 4 cloves of garlic and used a mix of baby Bellas and porcini mushrooms. By the time I had mixed everything in the pot, the barley was ready to add. All in all it took about an hour and 15 minutes. Great soup. Added salt and black pepper along with onion powder. Go by your taste. It actually was much better with grated Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States