Beef Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
My husband said He Liked it! That was all I needed to hear. This was delicious! I added worchestershire and soy sauce as well as a tsp of smoked paprika, salt & pepper and garlic. I also used dried mushrooms. Can't wait to have it for dinner tonight since others say it gets better as it ages. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveToEat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This soup was great, tasty and filling. Doubled the mushrooms and next time I'll add more carrots. I used quick cooking barley because that's all I had and i added it in the last hour along with the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I thought this turned out pretty good. I didn't have the beef stock, so I used beef bouillon instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I loved this recipe. It is easy to prepare, uses easily accessible ingredients & isn't 'finicky.' I did make a couple of *very minor* changes (i.e., added 1 additional stalk of celery & 1 additional carrot, for a total of 4 each, & only used one onion, as that was all I had on hand). Other than that I made it exactly as written. NOTE: save yourself some $$ - don't purchase pre-cut "stew meat"; instead purchase the same amount of chuck, and cut it yourself. You'll save a couple of dollars at least, & it's easier to cut to the size you prefer - especially if you put it in the freezer for an hour before you cut it. Oh, yes, one other minor change: I tasted the broth when adding the mushrooms and found it not quite "beefy" enough to suit me, so I added 1 beef bouillon cube. But that could easily just be me. I'm sure it would have been just as good without it. I do recommend tasting it at that time, though, as neither salt nor pepper are included in the ingredients(likely due to the beef stock). This is a very filling dish which refrigerates/reheats easily. I was going to see how it did with freezing, but I honestly don't have enough left to freeze and test. It would make a lovely meal served with a green salad, crusty French bread & a nice red wine. I will most definitely be making this lovely soup again, and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made the recipe as given. I will make this again, but using half the amount of barley and season the soup with salt and pepper. I thought it was very bland. All the barley soaked up the juices. It's a very hearty soup which is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I omitted the celery b/c I didn't have any on hand and I added 5 cloves of crushed garlic. I served it with beer bread and a salad and it was a big hit. Well worth the wait and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I have made this recipe about 4 times now, and it is a winner! I have made it with quick- cooking barley added at the last hour as another reviewer suggested, and also with regular barley according to the original recipe. Both ways are great, so don't be afraid to make it with either method. If using the regular barley you might want to have extra beef stock on hand to add as it tends to be a thicker consistency. Delicious and wholesome and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I've been making this soup for years! It''s a definite keeper in our family! Add 1 peeled and diced Turnip to this for an unforgettable difference! If we want it soup, I pre cook the barley and add to soup at end. If stew, don't pre cook! If you want a really great taste, use beef tenderloin. Soooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This is a great recipe! More like a "stoup" as Rachael Ray would say. Passing along a hint to those who would like a "clearer" broth. Cook your barley separately according to package directions in beef stock. Personally, I couldn't care less about the cloudiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Yonchuk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
A BIG WINNER (with a few tweaks...) and crockpot friendly too. To make this recipe a true soup (instead of a stew) I use only 1 lb of beef and 4 oz of barley. I also add two cans of beef consomme and 2 Tbsp Worchester Sauce, both of which give the broth some extra ooomph! Throw everything EXCEPT the barley, into a crockpot for about 6 hrs. Add the barley about 1hr before serving. Easy! A note to new cooks: Taking the time to brown the meat & veg in a skillet is the key to developing flavour base for most every soup or stew. It takes a few more minutes & dirties another dish BUT your taste buds will thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States